Extra, List of 10

10 Awesome Things That Happened in My 2016

the short storyBecause 2016 wasn’t all that bad…

…despite being really bad.
the long storySo, most of us can agree that 2016 was a dumpster fire that needs to be put out and disposed of. From an onslaught of celebrity deaths, to terrorist attacks, to wars, to Brexit, to one of the most shocking American elections, to the servers being down in Pokemon Go, 2016 was pretty much one bad event after another.

But there was also that weird dimension where everyone seemed to have a really crappy year on a really personal level. And I don’t really want to get into it, but this year did kind of suck, beyond the worst semester of my life.

Except, some pretty awesome stuff happened this past year, on a global and personal level. And while its easy to search the internet for all the awesome things that happened internationally this year, it doesn’t alleviate the personal level of suck this year had to offer.

So here’s a list I made for myself: 10 awesome things that happened in my 2016.

Working in cancer research

My second work placement was this year and I got to work in a lab at BC Cancer. I can’t go into a lot of details about what exactly I did, but I learned so much and worked with some really excellent people. I learned a lot about not just research, but what I like doing and gained insight about what I want in the future.

Going to my first concert

For my birthday, my sister took me to my first concert, of my favourite band in the entire world: Young The Giant. It was such an amazing experience to watch my favourite band live, with everyone cheering and dancing and singing along.

Watching the beautiful animated stories of Yuri on Ice, Your Name, Moana, Steven Universe, and Finding Dory

I am a sucker for animated anything and I absolutely loved the animated films and shows I watched this year. Where do I even begin? The touching stories? The phenomenal music (which I listen to often)? The stunning visuals? The general need to re-watch immediately after I finish?

I cried watching these and they have become personal favourites of mine. (Seriously, comment below and I will talk with you about Yuri On Ice for hours. OH MY GOD YURI ON ICE. OH MY GOD VICTOR AND YURI. OH MY GOD.

Visiting platform 9 3/4

Well, visiting London as a whole, really. I loved being in London, and the only shame is that we only got to stay there for a week. But going to Platform 9 3/4 was especially cool. We also got to go inside Buckingham Palace, and took day trips to Bath and Edinburgh.

One of the more prouder parts of the trip was that I did most of the planning myself. I was also my family’s tour guide…I led all the walks and planned the day’s events.

Studying A Song of Ice and Fire at school…and getting top marks!

I wrote a post about this yesterday, but having a class about Game of Thrones made the worst semester of life bearable. It was a definite GPA booster, and it was a great switch of gears for my brain.

Playing Pokémon Go 

I wasn’t the kid with a GameBoy Advance playing Pokémon. I was the girl who borrowed her brother’s nintendo DS to play his discarded Pokémon games. I was also the kid who watched the dub when it first aired in North America, and wanted a Pikachu so bad she got a stuffed animal larger than her torso.

So the release of Pokémon Go on mobile was a pretty big deal for me. I knew right away I wanted a Bulbasaur and my brother and I played a lot. Of course, being awful at video games that I am, I no longer have the app on my phone, and I probably didn’t get past level 7. But one of my favourite memories this year was arguing with my brother while I was driving because he was catching Pokémon while I had to focus on the road.

Starting the works of Victoria Schwab

I CANNOT WAIT FOR 2017 BEAUSE THAT MEANS I AM CLOSER TO GETTING A CONJURING OF LIGHT. I read Schwab’s Darker Shade books and This Savage Song this year and I absolutely loved them. I need to reread A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows again before the last book comes out in February, I love the story so much. The world building and the magic system and the characters and…oh, I could go on. I even bought Vicious just because I loved her other books so much, without even reading the blurb! After these, I’ll probably get around to the Archived.

Listening to Hamilton

Hamilton has been a highlight of 2016 for me. I listened to the album like mad, I fell in awe of Lin Manuel Miranda, and I got connected with one of the coolest fandoms on the planet. That musical is a phenomenon worth reckoning. It cheered me up when I was feeling down, made me cry with emotion, and all together is an experience…without even watching the actual musical!

Moving to be closer to school, and ending up with pretty awesome roommates

So I moved away from home to be closer to school in September. I’ve been saying I would do it for years, but I finally took the plunge this year, my final year.

I was actually kind of desperate and anxious about leaving home, and at first I was feeling lonely because I was the only student in the boarding house. But over the course of September, the rooms filled, and to my surprise and delight, I get alogn with my roommates really well. None of s knew each other before we moved in, but I’m happy to call them my friends.

Becoming more confident in my future

One of the biggest things I’ve had to think about this year is what I’m going to do once I graduate university. People kept asking me at work, school, and home. And I knew I couldn’t push the subject forever. I did a lot of thinking this year, and while I don’t really have a set plan, I’m more comfortable with the malleability of my current one. And I’ve rarely felt that way. But this year, I’ve come to feel that way a lot more.

So…that’s my list! Tell me some awesome things that happened to you in 2016 in the comments below!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

