The Playlist

The Playlist | Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)

Whenever people ask me what my favourite genre of music is, I usually respond by saying, “Anything but rap, country, and screamo.”

And this usually holds true, and then Hamilton came into my life and there was no going back.

“Immigrants, we get the job done,” is one of the most iconic lines in the musical, and it means so much to not just the story of Alexander Hamilton, but that of North America.

I am Canadian, but the idea that the country was built by immigrants isn’t limited to the United States. I am a first generation Canadian, which means my parents moved here from the Philippines to live in Canada, and I am the first generation of my family to be born in Canada.

I learned in school that the Pacific Coast Railway was built by Chinese immigrant labourers her in Vancouver, who had to work with dynamite and horrible conditions for our country to stretch from sea to shining sea.

Which is why I love these lyrics:

We’re America’s ghost writers, the credit’s only borrowed
It’s a matter of time before the checks all come
But…
Immigrants, we get the job done

I love the concept of immigrants being the ghost writers of a country. Because who gets the credit in history? The leaders, the prominent figures, the people who directed the immigrants.

Not the immigrants who actually put in the physical labour that was needed to build the country.

And I’m glad that this song expand upon the line, “Immigrants, we get the job done.” Because it’s the start of crediting those ghostwriters.

Make the story even longer with a comment:

