Extra

November is Always Stressful…Let’s (Intentionally) Add One More Thing To The List

the short storyI take up a blogging challenge I really shouldn’t do this month.

Because writing keeps me sane.the long story

So school’s been happening (more on this tomorrow). This is just a rather short post saying that (once again) I will be participating in NaBloPoMo–the blogging sister to NaNoWriMo.

Writing is one of the few things that keep me sane sometimes. I haven’t been blogging much in the past few months because I’ve been consumed with another writing project, which, unfortunately, has to be put on the back burner for the moment because of school.

See, I can’t write a novel in a month, I need time to plan my story, develop my characters…and that’s just not possible with school happening all day every day.

I literally spent my entire weekend dedicated to schoolwork. I usually go home for the weekend instead of staying near school, but I couldn’t this week because I get too distracted at home. I get too comfortable and can’t study.

I was even planning on doing going to some Halloween-themed events before that actual truckload of schoolwork piled into my lap.

So why would I do NaBloPoMo? Wouldn’t it just be another distraction?

NaBloPoMo November 2016

One of the things I like about blogging is that once I write a post about something, it’s no long stuck in my brain. It frees up room for me to think about other things, and clear my mind. It keeps me from going on Tumblr when it’s about something fandom-related, and it keeps me from getting distracted talking when it’s news related.

Another reason is that I love my blog, even if I haven’t been blogging much in the recent past. Because I’ve had ideas for what to blog about, I just haven’t forced myself to put time aside for it. And when I started Short Story Long, what really cemented my blogging habits was the November blogging challenge.

So I’ll see you tomorrow…and the next 29 days after that.

Make the story even longer with a comment:

