Tag

Hamilton Book Tag

the short story

And once again, my obsessions collide.

the long story

Trolling booktube after watching a slew of Hamilton videos led me to the Hamilton Book Tag by Maureen Keavy. To which I immediately thought: I WILL DO THIS.

I did rearrange the questions so that the songs were in chronological order…because I’m a giant nerd. I also added a few more songs, because, no Guns and Ships? Really? 

Clicking on the song title opens a new window with the official cast recording.

635895910639796078-410967101_alex hamilton .gif

Alexander Hamilton: Favourite Titular Character
Wow. What do I pick? Harry Potter? Percy Jackson? Cinder? Cress? Scarlet?

I’m going with Ella Enchanted this time, because I rarely get to talk about it, and it was one of my favourite books as a kid.

My Shot: A character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anything stop them
Maybe not the question was picturing, but I’m going with Levana from The Lunar Chronicles. Levana will brainwash, blackmail, infect, rape, and kill to get what she wants. It’s sort of strange that the song identified with the musical’s hero is also identified with a novel’s villain.

Farmer Refuted: A book you liked, but no one else did
Usually it goes the other way for me (I hate the novel everyone else loves), so it took me a while to come up with an answer. In the end, the only thing I can think of is Cue for Treason, a book I had to read when I was in high school. It was about these teenagers who become members of Shakespeare’s acting troupe to avoid getting arrested in 16th century England. Most people didn’t like it because it was still Shakespeare.

Schuyler.gif

The Schuyler Sisters: Underrated Female Character
I know there are some huge Scott Westerfeld fans out there, but I don’t see much hype for Deryn Sharp. She’s a cross dressing, swearing, sassy, modern young woman stuck in England in the early 1900s. Go read the Leviathan trilogy and love Deryn Sharp.

You’ll Be Back: Sassiest villain
My immediate thought was any villain in Percy Jackson. Then I realized that Kronos wasn’t really sassy. So I’m ammending it to any side villain in Percy Jackson.

tumblr_o1xhf6N3fM1ua5hmgo1_400.gif

Right Hand Man: Favourite BROTP
Will and Jem from The Infernal Devices. Those two were brothers in all but blood.

Helpless: A relationship you were pulling for from the very start
Oh man. Too many OTPs to choose from. For fun, let’s pick one that didn’t pan out, but I was shipping from the beginning, and that is Leo and Reyna in Heroes of Olympus. I don’t know why, but it made sense to me.

Satisfied: Favourite book with multiple POVs
I know there are a lot of books with multiple point of views, but the only one that stands out to me is Heroes of Olympus, despite how the multiple POV began to be more harmful to the story in the latter half. I will say that the multiple point of view was best used in The House of Hades, so let’s go with that.

giphy.gif

Wait For It: A book you’re waiting to be released
Just give me Trials of Apollo!

Stay Alive: A character you wish was still alive [warn for spoilers!]
DOBBY!

Ten Duel Commandments: Favourite fight scene
There are a lot to choose from here, so I’ll pick the most recent favourite fight scene, which is the fight with Levana in Winter. I love the layer of strategy and struggle that the Lunar glamour adds to the fight.

Guns and Ships: Favourite sidekick
I’m picking Iko from The Lunar Chronicles, because I feel like I don’t talk about her enough. She is one sassy, hilarious, and dedicated andriod, and so much couldn’t have been done without her.6359048972461475441531384348_hamilton 15

What Comes Next: A series you wish had more books
This is a hard one, since my go to answers: Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Lunar Chronicles, etc… don’t apply. I think these series ended well without the need for more. So I’m amending this to an author who I want to read more from, and I say Laini Taylor because her writing style is absolutely gorgeous.

Dear Theodosia: Favourite parent/child relationship
That would be the Ari and his parents in Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

Non-stop: A series you marathoned
I tore through Brandon Sanderson’s original Mistborn Trilogy last summer. I actually almost missed a bus because I was reading it while waiting at the stop, and the bus driver wasn’t sure whether or not to stop the bus for me to get on.

tumblr_nkrposf3gd1unigu6o1_500.gif

What’d I Miss: A book or series you were late to reading
SO. MANY. The most significant is probably Harry Potter, which I didn’t read until the seventh movie came out.

Cabinet Battle(s): Favourite Comeback
For some reason, the only thing I can think of is this scene in The Lightning Thief when Percy fights Procrustes, who has terrible skin. The monster introduces himself as, “Crusty” and Percy thinks, Why yes, you are.

It’s probably the moment I knew I was going to love Percy’s candid attitude.

The Room Where It Happens: Book world you would put yourself in
Too many to choose from! Let’s go with Red London this time. I’m in the middle of A Gathering of Shadows, and while going to Red London is rather dangerous, I can speak English High Royal, so I could get around.

Leslie.gif

One Last Time: Favourite finale to a series
Why are these questions so hard? Gahh…um I’m cheating and picking Deathly Hallows.

Say No To This: Guilty pleasure read
When I need a little pick me up, I just sort of scan my favourite books for cute scenes. Recent go to-s are the movie theatre in Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments, Blue’s reveal in Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, most Percabeth scenes, the Wolflet reunion in Winter, and, oddly, Vin and Elend’s wedding in The Well of Ascension.

The Reynolds Pamphlet: A book with a twist that you didn’t see coming [warn for spoilers!]
The end of Daughter of Smoke and Bone was such a surprise. I didn’t see that coming at all. I won’t give all the details, but I will say that I was ready for an epic romance and then…it didn’t happen.

giphy.gif

Burn: The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read [warn for spoilers!]
HUNGER GAMES SPOILERS!!! Strangely, what came to my mind was when Peeta and Katniss got separated in The Hunger Games, and I’m talking about the trilogy as a whole. From Peeta learning that Katniss was acting in the 74th games to Peeta getting brainwashed, the relationship gets a lot of false starts. I consider that the end of a relationship, since something was established before the roadblock got in the way. giphy.gif

The World Was Wide Enough: A villain you sympathized with
Definitely choosing the monster in Frankenstein or possibly Frankenstein himself. The whole reason Frankenstein is my favourite classic novel is because I can’t decide who is the real villain in the story.

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story: A book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history
I feel like everyone answers this queston with Harry Potter, so I won’t say that. I also think I can’t pick any classics since they have technically already achieved posterity. So I’m going with Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief.

tumblr_nyfzz3gRhT1ug6oyio1_500.gif

And that’s it!

Wow, that was long. I commend you, dear reader, for making it this far. All that’s left is for me to tag YOU. Yes, you, fellow lovers of books and Hamilton. Have fun with this tag (I did).

One thought on “Hamilton Book Tag

  1. I saw the title of your blog post and I thought YES! I didn’t know that I needed this but I needed this!
    Love your answers.
    I thought I’d do it too, but first I need to catch up on my Hamilton- the way I’d like to, where I know every word to every song, would take long- but in general just getting on with Act 2 would also be cool for this challenge.

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

