In Medias Res (IMR)

Double Stacking Books?!

the short story

I rearranged my bookshelf.

the long story

There is one thing that I love and hate about being a book collector, and that is keeping my bookshelf organized. I have to do it every few months as I buy and donate books or its starts to get a little haphazard:

IMAG0480.jpg

It may not look like that much of a mess, and that’s because it isn’t. But If I let it go for a few more weeks, it’d be much more worse than this.

I share this shelf with my sister, so I have to find a way to fit this:

IMAG0482.jpg

Into this:IMAG0483.jpg

I promised my sister that I would restrict the books to the two rows, so technically that empty cube on the upper right doesn’t count.

It took a while, but I managed to do it:

IMAG0484.jpg

There’s something oddly therapeutic for me when I reorganize my shelves. I like sorting them and trying to figure out where to put them on the shelf. Plus, looking at the finished product just makes me happy.

I did have to cheat a little. You’ll notice that three of the shelves are “double stacked”–two rows on a shelf. The three double stacked are the classics, the Riordan shelf, and my sci-fi/high fantasy shelf:

The back rows are on top of boxes so I can still see their spines. (And if it covers the disappointment of the Heroes of Olympus series, well, that just works out well, doesn’t it?)

3 thoughts on “Double Stacking Books?!”

  1. Aww, such a lovely set up! I also share my bookcase with someone but I’ve only given them one shelf, haha. (They’re not much of a reader so it’s not a big deal.) And right? If only we could have an infinite amount of shelf space like Belle’s library. I also recently started double stacking my books because I’m running out of room. However, I’ve also been more keen on buying ebooks because of this. 🙂

    Like

  2. Too true, must cover up all the mediocrity of Heroes of Olympus. I hate double stacking though, like I just can’t put books behind books so they end up in stacks around my room XD Your shelves look good though, I love how you can still see the back row!

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

