The Playlist

The Playlist | FOOLS by Troye Sivan

I’ve been in a sort of listening slump these past few weeks, just listening to Fall Out Boy and Twenty One Pilots on repeat, without really paying attention or listening to new music.

Then, when scrolling through the music I saved on Spotify, I found Troy Sivan’s album, Blue Neighbourhood.

IT. IS. SO. GOOD.

I wasn’t a huge fan of Troye Sivan’s earlier work. (I know I featured Happy Little Pill before but this new album is even better.)

My favourite song has to be “FOOLS”:

I’m love the way this song starts out with acoustic piano, and it builds with synth and drums into this burst of a chorus. In honesty, Sivan’s voice isn’t particularly special, but I like the mood and tone that it sets. It’s very sedate, and it gives you something to follow while you revel in the synth and drums and beat in the background.

I’m hoping I can start The Playlist up on this blog again, (when was the last time I posted one again?) but I need help to get out of this listening slump! Recommend me songs in the comments!

11 thoughts on “The Playlist | FOOLS by Troye Sivan

  1. “I’ve been in a sort of listening slump these past few weeks, just listening to Fall Out Boy and Twenty One Pilots on repeat, without really paying attention or listening to new music.”

    OMG! This is literally what I’ve been doing too. Mostly twenty one pilots with a sprinkling of Fall Out Boy and Panic at the Disco!
    If Troye Sivan helps me diversify my music listening habits then I’ll definitely give this album a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I apologize for that sentence. I admit that I like that his voice is soft and pleasant to listen to. But’s that’s it for me…nothing much else to make it stand out. I didn’t mean to be offensive.

      Like

    1. Don’t worry about it—I know I’ve reacted like that before in defense of my music preferences. Haha, I’ll defend my favourite band, Young The Giant, until armageddon 😛

      Like

  2. ARGH I JUST FOUND HIM. I love Youth and Fools, but not so much his other ones. Do you recommend any?

    I don’t know if you’ve tried Imagine Dragons – their new album. It crosses over so many genres and has so many influences its cray XD

    Like

    1. I loved the first Imagine Dragons album! I haven’t kept up with their music in a while, but I’ll definitely look into it!

      I do like “HEAVEN,” “TALK ME DOWN,” “LOST BOY,” and “Happy Little Pill” by Troye Sivan, in addition to “YOUTH” and “FOOLS”. If you’re looking for a mix of electronica and soft pop like Troye’s I recommend the new Coldplay album, A Head Full Of Dreams. Vinyl Theatre is also a good band, a little more upbeat.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hope you’re still loving this track! I was actually lucky enough to go to Troye’s Sydney concert in August and just got my blog post up about it, would love for you to check it out! xx

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

