In Medias Res (IMR)

IMR | Definitive Proof That I Was Not a Teenage Shipper

….or proof that I didn’t pay attention.

I’m currently rereading Alison Croggon’s Books of Pellinor as part of a readalong hosted by Book Wars. I read this series about 8 years ago, and I don’t remember much except that it was my introduction to high fantasy and I loved it a lot.

Oh, and that I was thoroughly surprised when Cadvan and Maerad ended up together.

See, as a thirteen year old, I was excited by the magic and the system of Barding and the Knowing and the elemental spirits. I didn’t really care if Maerad ended up with Cadvan or Dernhil or even that Ice King in the second book. The funny thing is that it’s sort of crazy that I didn’t consider it earlier, because from book one, there are hints and blushes and looks and…dear god, I was really ignorant.

I mean, there are at least five incidents in the first book alone where Cadvan and Maerad were mistaken or viewed as lovers or a married couple. And Maerad comes to trust Cadvan more than anyone in the world.

At the very least, it proves that I didn’t care much for shipping back then as I do now. Now, I’m eager to read more to see how their relationship grows.

Check out the discussion post on Book Wars, but fair warning, there’s spoilers!

2 thoughts on “IMR | Definitive Proof That I Was Not a Teenage Shipper

  1. I know what you mean! I haven’t read this book in particular, but I feel like I never cared about the romance when I was younger. I just wanted to get onto the action scenes 😛

    Like

    1. Haha me too. And I still find myself excited for those actin scenes, but I’m also now excited to see how this relationship grows. Are there pairings that you ship now that you didn’t before?

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

