In Medias Res (IMR)

It’s Cyborg Monday!

To most of the world, today was Cyber Monday, the epic online sales event the Monday after Black Friday.

But Marissa Meyer has made today Cyborg Monday with the cover release of her Lunar Chronicle Novella Compilation, Stars Above:

stars above cover

Isn’t it so pretty?

But wait, there’s more!

WARNING: the more I speak of contains spoilers for Winter, so if you do not wish to be spoiled, stop reading here and simply stare in awe at the beautiful cover.

Released to the world is also the table of contents for this new book, revealing five new stories, most of them prequels about each of the protagonists. There’s the previously released Glitches, The Queen’s Army, and Carswell’s Guide To Being Lucky, as well as Meyer’s adaptation of The Little Mermaid, The Little Android. And then there are four new prequels:

  • The Keeper, which is about how Selene and Scarlet are taken in by Michelle Benoit
  • After the Sun Passes By, which is how Cress ends up in her satellite
  • The Princess and The Guard, which could only be about Winter and Jacin as children
  • The Mechanic, which is Cinder and Kai’s first encounter from Kai’s point of view

You might be wondering where I’m getting this information. I got sent an email this morning from Fierce Reads, which started like this:

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 7.16.41 PM

The fifth new story is an epilogue to Winter, featuring a wedding.

A WEDDING, GUYS.

I keep trying to figure out who’s wedding it is. And because it is a wedding, I’m going to assume a few years have passed and everyone is settled down in their new lives.

I’m pretty confident that it isn’t Wolf and Scarlet’s because those two are practically married already. I feel like after everything they’ve been through, they’re content to just be together, no wedding to “officially” state it. They’d probably have kids before they got married.

I also considered Thorne and Cress, and while I think Cress would love the idea of a grand wedding, I also think that Cress and Thorne would want to travel the world first, possibly never settling down. I sort of picture them getting married in their home, the Rampion, once Thorne has bought it with his hard earned cash. Besides, while I love these two, the wedding of an ex-con and a master hacker isn’t exactly “the wedding of the century.”

(Well, maybe Thorne would call it the wedding if the century. And he would be insufferable.)

(I just realized that “the wedding of an ex-con and a master hacker” sounds like the wedding of the century for the villains of comic books….so it could be a big deal. In some crazy alternate universe.)

Point is, I’ve basically narrowed it down to Winter and Jacin, or Cinder and Kai. Both are Lunar royalty, so either wedding would be a big deal. I definitely feel like Winter and Jacin would get married first out of the group, just because they’ve been in love with each other for forever while thinking marriage was never going to be an option.

The most likely scenario is Kai and Cinder. It would be a marriage alliance between Earth and Luna (not that one is technically needed anymore), and Kai even hints at a proposal at the end of Winter. And after the kidnapping and the wedding-that-shall-not-be-named-because-it-never-should-have-happened, Kai sort of deserves a positive wedding experience. (Seriously, his record is near comparable to Ross from Friends—and he’s not even 20 yet!)

31d40248faf52a0100a4cd798f2636e0

The problem with it being Cinder and Kai’s wedding is that it would be too obvious. And knowing how writers like to troll, it’s probably going to be Iko’s wedding…which actually would be a big deal since she’s an android.

I have other hopes for this epilogue. Mainly Thorne owning the Rampion, Winter with the bioelectricity gadet installed, and Wolf becoming full on vegetarian.

But seriously, I’m expecting  fluff out of thus epilogue. Fluff and tomatoes.

That’s enough from me, though. What do you expect to read about in Stars Above? Let me know in comments!

6 thoughts on “It’s Cyborg Monday!”

  1. A WEDDING OMG. If it’s Iko’s wedding I would be fangirling so hard. Just imagine her happiness at all the pretty bridal dresses! I’m just so excited to read this book 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Iko would be gushing about the dresses no matter who’s wedding it is. And to be honest, I’m going to be gushing about the wedding no matter who’s actually getting married because I SHIP IT ALL.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG!!! I have not read Winter yet and I feel like I am one of the last people in the world. I have decided to hold off because I want to buy the whole series first and re-read them since I had to borrow them off people when I was reading them.
    OMG, Iko’s wedding?! ARGHH!!!! She was one of my favourite characters and now, I’ve been spoilt but I don’t care because she gets a happy ending as well! YAY!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I feel terrible for spoiling you, but I did put a warning in there 😉 BUT READ WINTER! It’s so good!

      And I really have no idea who’s wedding it is in Stars Above, this post is pure speculation. It could be Iko’s, it could be Cinder’s, it could be Cress, it could be Scarlet, or Winter. Or possibly none of them, in which case Meyer is an extreme troll.

      And Meyer is sort of a troll (as most writers are). She did mention that “wolf cubs” were mentioned in Winter, and they were…in exactly the context you’re thinking of and at the same time, not at all what you’re thinking of.

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

