Extra

The Playlist | Water Under The Bridge by Adele

Everyone has been going on and on about what a hit Adele’s new album, 25, is. But I am sick of listening to “Hello.” I hear it non stop on the radio.

The problem is that I subscribe to Spotify, and Adele was not released her latest album to the streaming service. Which is rather sad.

Instead, I’ve been scouring YouTube for the live performances of her songs. And almost immediately, I found my favourite song on the album, “Water Under The Bridge”:

I love this song a lot. I like the layering of the background voices, I like the beat and the guitar. But these lyrics are spot on:

If you’re not the one for me
Then how come I can bring you to your knees
If you’re not the one for me
Why do I hate the idea of being free?
And if I’m not the one for you
You’ve gotta stop holding me the way you do
Oh honey if I’m not the one for you
Why have we been through what we have been through

This is the sort of song I would associate if…if Percy and Annabeth broke up. (Not that that happens.) (It better not happen.)

I like how it acknowledges that you can’t just let go of love easily, even if it feels like it’s time to let go. Love is love…even if it’s over.

So radio stations, start playing this track, because I don’t think I could handle more of “Hello”.

4 thoughts on “The Playlist | Water Under The Bridge by Adele

  1. Ooh, this was great! Thanks for introducing me to song! I’ve only heard hello on the radio true, but I think after a few more weeks of hello hype, her other songs will start to play on the radio too. Or at least that’s what I hope will happen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too, because I love this song and “When We Were Young” and I hope they get their time on the radio waves.

      My only fear is that they will get overplayed and then I’ll get sick of them. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was so excited to hear her album on Spotify too…

    If Percabeth breaks up, I will have no hope in any ship. But I totally get what you mean, this song is perfect 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But it’s not on Spotify! (Groans again…)

      Yeah, that was the only comparison I could think of that would represent this song. It’s just that line: “If I’m not the one for you, why have we been through what we have been through?” And Percabeth has been through Greek hell. The last thing I want is for Riordan to break them up (and I don’t think he will).

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

