(Sort of) Doing NaBloPoMo

It’s November! Which means it’s the busiest…oh, wait…

I don’t have mounds of schoolwork to do.

Have I mentioned that I’m on co-op placement for my degree? So I’m technically not in school right now even though I have “student” status?

This is probably the first November that I haven’t been stressed out since…well, since high school. No midterms, no papers, no lab reports—well, none that I have to take home with me, anyways.

And yet, without fail (well, for the two years that I have been blogging) I’ve participated in the November month blogging challenges.

But…I almost didn’t this year.

It’s sort of weird. The minute I have a load of free time (because, hey no school!) I lose all motivation to actually do something creative. I’ve been on this placement since May (read: no homework since May) and my blogging has been mediocre at best. (We’re going to excuse some time in early October because I was on another job hunt.) The Harry Potter Challenge I did in August did little to shake me out of this funk I’ve been having.

So I’m going to try again this November. A post a day, ones that I seriously care about. Something to get back into this whole blogging process.

What should you expect? Well, expect IMRs (especially once I have my copy of Winter), a revival of Notable Quotables, Playlist posts, and something new for me: rants. About my life.

I don’t like writing about myself. I like writing about books and music because it’s talking about myself without actually talking about myself—my thoughts and opinions without really staring at me in the face.

But I want you guys to know me better. Get to know the owl with the glasses who can’t get over Blood of Olympus and hasn’t shut up about Mistborn. The girl who loves plaid shirts and knit sweaters and scarves. Who’ll drink gallons of iced tea, given the option. Who lives in one of the mildest locations in the world that still gets all four seasons and will still complain about the heat and the cold. Who’s sort of a hipster, but not really. Who goes to bed way too early.

And I mean, that’s just a snapshot, but you get the idea.

You might also notice that I’ve neglected to add reviews to this epic plan of mine.

That’s because I’ve sort of decided to stop reviewing books. Reviewing was always my least favourite part of book blogging, and I’m both relieved and regretting this decision. I don’t know…maybe some happy middle ground will crop up. (In the form of better and more frequent IMRs perhaps?)

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m going to use this year’s November to really explore what I can do on this blog. The “sort of” bit in the title is that, while I’m going to try really hard to post something everyday, I won’t give myself flack for missing one or two. The point is to get myself writing again—not to burn out and stress over needing to write.

With that, wish me luck! And good luck to all you NaBloPoMo-ers and NaNoWriMo-ers out there!

9 thoughts on “(Sort of) Doing NaBloPoMo

  1. It’s classic! I’m the same way – the old saying is, if you want something done, give it to a busy person. And it’s so true – when I’m swamped, I take on more, and somehow get it done. When I’m not so busy, I waste more time. (Like today – I could be blogging, getting groceries, organizing closets… I’m sitting on my rear pilfering my kids’ Hallowe’en candy and reading blogs. :)). )

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Why is that, do you think? How does productivity spur more productivity….while being a lazy bum on the internet do absolutely nothing? I feel like that’s all I’ve been doing when I have so many personal projects like blogging to work on—especially now that I have the time!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck! I would do NaBloPoMo but I am doing NaNoWriMo and unlike some lucky people, I currently have multiple hours of homework a night, so I’m not going to put that stress on myself. What does IMR stand for?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! I’ve never done NaNoWriMo, it always seemed too daunting…especially with homework to do! GOOD LUCK!

      “IMR” stands for “In Medias Res”. It’s a literary term that comes from Latin for “in the middle of things” Here, it’s a type of post that I write. When I’m in the middle of reading a book, I write posts about my thoughts and opinions while reading—sometimes it can turn out terribly because my initial thoughts were completely wrong, but that’s also what I like about them.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. IMRs do sound better than reviews. They’re one of my least favourite things to write- but I like finding quotes (I insert quotes from the book into mine) and I need to write some for school, so I might as well post them here. Thank you! I have had a few up-to-1-am nights and am not getting much reading, but I’m really enjoying it 🙂

      Like

  3. Good luck! I hate those moods where you just don’t want to do anything, it’s the worst. Hopefully this fixes it 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing how you get us to know you better, because that’s something I want to start doing, and I really have no idea how…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope this works too. I find it really hard writing about my personal life and myself, while writing about books, movies, or music, I have no problem. I’m not quite sure how much I’m ready to actually say about myself, but I definitely want to add more than just my thoughts on books. I want the occasional post about what’s going on in my life. Hopefully I’ll figure it out. (The posts, not life—though that would be a bonus.)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am the same way! I’m most creative (and get the most creative work done) during the work day. When I worked as a secretary, I did a ton of blogging and designing in between assignments and phone calls. Whenever I was inspired to do something AFTER work….I rarely did it. 😦

    Hopefully setting goals will help you! I look forward to your daily blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I definitely know what you mean. I feel like I use all of my mental energy at work…plus I spend a good chunk of my day staring at a screen, analyzing data. Sometimes when I get home, the last thing I want to do is sit in front of my computer to write a proper blog post.

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

