Tag

The Reading Habits Tag

Months ago, Calliope the Book Goddess tagged be to do the reading habits book tag. Time for me to actually do it!

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I read everywhere, but my favourite place is my bed.

reading in bed gif

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

owl bookmarksticky note flagsI used to use bookmarks—I got this cute owl one from my aunt for my birthday a while back, but nowadays I use a pack of flags so I can flag things off while I read. It’s flat enough that it doesn’t destroy the book while I’m reading, and I can easily flag things off while i read.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages?

I think that depends on the book I’m reading. If I’m really into it, I won’t be able to stop. But most of the time when I’m reading, I’m interrupted by the bus stopping at my stop. (Most of my reading time is provided by commuting on public transit.) So I’m used to stopping anywhere in a book…sometimes even mid-sentence.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I don’t like eating while reading…my hands are already busy with my book. I do like to drink while I’m reading—tea, coffee, water, hot chocolate, iced tea.

Multitasking: music or TV while reading?

TV and books just don’t mix. That’s two stories trying to be told at the same time. I do listen to music though. Sometimes while I’m reading a song will crop up in my head, and I like to play it.

One book at a time or several at once?

I am always reading more than one book at a time. I’m currently rereading Cress before Winter comes out, 1984 by George Orwell, and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.I also recently finished a reread of Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On.

Reading at home or everywhere?

EVERYWHERE!

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently in my head…unless I am intentionally reading aloud to someone.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

Only if I’m rereading a book and I can’t handle the wait for my favourite scenes. For example, while I was rereading Scarlet last week, I kept skipping a head to read scenes like when Cinder finds Princess Selene’s hiding place, and Scarlet and Wolf’s kissing scenes…specifically the one involving an ID chip. But after reading the scene, I went back to where I was.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I would love to keep the spine new—but more often than not I wreck the spine by accident. I also buy a lot of paperbacks because they’re cheaper, so there are a few folded corners too.i am ashamed gif

Do you write in your books?

I can’t. My body rejections the action. I just use flags.

And that’s it! I tag:

Miserable and Magical

Dreaming Through Literature

teenagelunatics

6 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. Ha ha, the the whole skipping pages when re reading…I recently just did that with heir of fire (don’t know if you’ve read the Throne of glass series) but I skipped all the chaol and Dorian chapters cause I wanted that celaena and rowan!

    Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

