Tag

The Emoji Tag

Huge thanks to Kellie at Book Delights for tagging me for the Book Emoji Tag.

For this tag, I have to go on my phone, find the latest five emojis that I used on my phone and then find a book that matches each emoji. Let’s start!

neutral-face

Neutral Face

I use this emoji mostly when the person I’m texting is overly dramatic. (I’m a terribly sarcastic person in text form.) I think the last time I used it was when my sister was freaking over her haircut.

The book I choose to pair with this is Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. For me, this book was a lot of melodrama without much substance. This emoji was basically me while reading the novel: distanced from the characters, the story, and any sort of emotion (other than annoyance) what so ever.

28600CB500000578-3070135-image-a-30_1430912161865Shocked Face

I think I last used this when I more surprised than shocked. It also looks like the face is terrified, though I don’t think I’ve ever been in a state where “I’m so scared…let me send this emoji!”

hero-of-agesSo for this one, I’m going with the shock factor. And while a lot of books had their plot twists, I’m going to pick The Hero of Ages, because that ending. I’m pretty sure my mouth was hanging open when I got to that last chapter. I love the way Sanderson connected everything—all the mysteries—together in those final chapters. You just get to the end and think, Why didn’t I see it sooner?

d0c425c18223e25ff98d97875173379e.200x200x1Happy Face

Who doesn’t use the happy face emoji? So this is for a book that made me really happy while reading. And there’s a lot of things that make me happy when reading: amazing writing, intelligent plot twists, But the easiest way to get me to smile? Adorableness.

So I’ve chosen Simon and the Homo Sapien’s Agenda. Blue and Simon are too cute! And I never even got mad when it became obvious who Blue was…I was too darn happy that it was who I thought it was.

Because that just lead to adorable stuff. And that makes me happy.

face-with-cold-sweatSweat drop

I usually end up using this emoji in reference to myself. I’m a klutz and I make a lot of terrible typing mistakes on my phone, so the word *facepalm*, this emoji, and the following emoji come up quite a bit. Plus, it reminds me of anime, which is always a good thing.

the-blood-of-olympus-coverA book that made feel like it was a huge mistake was…oh boy…The Blood of Olympus. This book, as my siblings and I like to joke should have been called The Nose Bleed of Olympus. Compare the seriousness of the actual title and the ridiculousness of my proposed title, and you can see why I would associate this book with this emoji. The finale to The Heroes of Olympus just wasn’t serious enough for me.

ios_emoji_face_savouring_delicious_foodGoofy Face

I don’t really know how else to describe this emoji. I use it the most, followed by the happy face. I usually don’t mean it as happy as the emoji looks…well maybe only when I’m joking.

So what’s a book that made me laugh? Me and Earl and the Dying Girl was a such a funny book, despite what the title would suggest. Greg’s voice and the style of writing are just pure comedy.

So all that’s left for me to do is tag other people.

But, I’m lazy today, so if you would like to do this tag, feel free to do so!

3 thoughts on “The Emoji Tag

Make the story even longer with a comment:

