The Playlist

The Playlist | We Don’t Believe What’s On TV by Twenty One Pilots

I’m glad that I’m getting back to these playlist posts. I missed writing them.

Especially since, not only do I get to share music, but I get to discover new music through them. For example, phipallavi recommended that I try Twenty One Pilots.

I did.

Why didn’t I listen to them earlier?!

Their most recent album, Blurryface, is absolutely brilliant. It’s the only music I’ve heard from them so far, but I’m definitely going to look for their older music.

“We Don’t Believe What’s On TV” has become a personal favourite of mine. I mean, look at these lyrics:

What if my dream does not happen?
Would I just change what I’ve told my friends?
Don’t want to know who I would be
When I wake up from a dreamer’s sleep

I. Love. These. Lyrics.

They aren’t about love or drugs or sex. It’s about feeling insecure. About failing.

Not to mention that it’s also super catchy.

It reminds me of this talk that Hank Green gave at the XOXO festival. If you have the time, you should check it out, though it is quite long:

It’s like Hank Green is replying to this song. He claims (rather eloquently) that you should “fuck your dreams.” Dreams should fuel us, but they shouldn’t decide the destination.

But going back to the music, I love this song a lot. So recommend music to me! I will listen to it and maybe it will end up on the Playlist!

6 thoughts on “The Playlist | We Don’t Believe What’s On TV by Twenty One Pilots

  1. I love Twenty One Pilots!!
    So far I’ve only heard like 7 songs but I can’t wait to listen to more of them!
    Another favourites of mine are Stressed Out and Ride!
    Just love them so much!!!!!

    Like

  2. And yes, the lyrics you’ve mentioned are my favourite too. Every time I listen to this song while doing other things, I always always pause when these lines come and reflect upon them. Every single time.
    Now I’ll check out the Hank video soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. From Vessel (which is there older album, before Blurryface), you should listen to
    Guns for Hands
    Screen
    Holding On to You
    The Run and Go
    Ode to Sleep
    House of Gold
    (in that order)
    I’m so glad you enjoyed top. They’re life.

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

