Extra

(Belated) HP Challenge Day 30 – How Harry Potter Changed My Life

First of all, a huge thank you to everyone who participated (or, as the case may be, is still participating) in the Harry Potter 30 Day Challenge with me. It was so much fun reading everyone’s posts. It’s funny how creative and thoughtful we were about Harry Potter.

Second, I have to seriously apologize because (1) some days could have had better prompts and I should have foreseen that, and (2) This post is SUPER late.

I have an excuse though—my power went out for two and a half days. There was a wind storm on Saturday morning and trees fell and essentially half the power grid went out.

But moving on to the main event: Harry Potter. The final prompt asks me, “What affect has Harry Potter made on your life? How much does it mean to you?”

Harry Potter has had an indirect affect on my life. I never was the one who waited in line for the premiere of the next movie, or preordered the books. I’ve never dressed up as a wizard or gone to Potter conventions. To be honest, when I first tried to read the books I thought they were boring, overrated.

But Harry Potter (movies and books combined) has a huge impact on my life. One of my best friends in high school was a Potterhead. Our inside jokes were all Harry Potter based, and when we went to watch the last movie, we whispered about all the inaccuracies.

The strong female characters were also a huge impact on me. Molly Weasley taught me that being a mother is the most important job on earth. Hermione taught me it’s okay to be smart. And Luna, as I’ve mentioned, taught me that it’s okay to be myself.

Then there are the ways that Harry Potter changed the world around me. I would go to school concerts and they would play Harry Potter scores. I went to Universal Studios and rode one of the best roller coasters in the world in Hogwarts. Halloween parties weren’t compete without at least one Hogwarts student. When my brother asked me to make him a scarf, he insisted on a Gryffindor scarf.

Harry Potter showed me what it means to change the world in two ways. One: by the love of a young man for his friends. Two: by the love of readers for a series.

I could go on and on about the themes of the series. About love and life and what it means to be human. About being a misfit. But the real impact that Harry Potter has had on my life is the way the series brought together people from all over the world.

The Harry Potter fandom is a force to be reckoned with. So much so that part of the news this week was that James Sirius Potter just got sorted into Gryffindor. “Nineteen years later” is almost here.

But look at what the books have caused people to accomplish. There is now one of the best book to movie adaptations in the world. An amusement park. Three very funny musicals. The Harry Potter Alliance. Rowling’s own foundation, Lumos. Inspiring millions of kids to read, and millions of authors to write.

What Harry Potter really means to me is the power of a really good book. It’s the power to inspire, the power to teach.
It’s the power to prove that simple words really are magic. And I will always thank Harry Potter for that.

6 thoughts on “(Belated) HP Challenge Day 30 – How Harry Potter Changed My Life

    1. Also, did you know that in Kings Cross Station they put up a Hogwarts express at 11am notice on the train timetables to honour the 19 years later? And Strictly Come Dancing opened the season on the ‘Strictly Express’ (Strictly Come Dancing is a UK television series).

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

