Extra

HP Challenge Day 25 – Nineteen Years Later

Today’s prompt asked me if I like the series’ (in)famous epilogue, Nineteen Years Later.

I know there’s a lot of controversy over the Harry Potter epilogue. Some people hated it.

And I get it. I do. I just don’t agree.

From what I understand, people dislike Nineteen Years Later because it’s simply that: nineteen years later.

What the crap happened in that time?

I’ll tell you: boring stuff. Harry becomes an Auror. Hermione goes back to school. Neville becomes a Herbology professor. People get married. (Yes, even Draco.) (Why would you name your son “Scorpius”?) (James probably has a billion awful nicknames for him already.) Babies are born. Blah, blah, blah.

I personally really like that JK took the time to show us that the characters get their boring happy endings. Because that’s all they really wanted in the end. Stable families, stupid problems like James teasing Al.

No scar burning. No Voldemort. No imminent death.

Now if you want to talk about how they don’t discuss the piecing back together of their lives immediately after the Battle of Hogwarts, that’s another story entirely…

Because here’s the problem:

  • Hermione’s parents don’t know she even exists. Did this ever get fixed?
  • Why Kingsley for Minister?
  • What about grief? What about funerals? Respect for those who died?
  • So we’re just going to accept Draco? With no explanations? Sure.
  • How exactly do Ginny and Harry make up for when he broke it off? How? Ginny would not let him off easily.
  • Does Harry ever make up with the Dursleys?
  • How exactly does Harry take care of a baby?

And I know JK is constantly releasing new content, but it sucks that the ending/epilogue can’t stand on its own in this way.

Though to be honest, I don’t think we could ever be truly satisfied with the ending of Harry Potter. Because that means it’s over. No more Harry, Ron, and Hermione. No more broomsticks, wands, evil wizards.

But good thing Hogwarts will always be there to welcome us home.

3 thoughts on “HP Challenge Day 25 – Nineteen Years Later”

  1. J.K. Rowling actually answered most of those questions… I do think that Ginny would get back to Harry just like that, because she understood completly why he broke it off in the first place.
    What baby? Are you talking about Teddy?

    Like

    1. Did she? It’s been five years since I read Deathly Hallows, and while I’m certain JK Rowling gave this info, I don’t recall if she actually put it in the last book or not.

      Like

    2. some of it no, it’s from outside… unfortunatly. But Teddy for instance was raised by his grandmother, I think that is in the book (though I read it some time ago)

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

