HP Challenge Day 12 – Favourite Ship

I know this is a weird statement, but one of the reasons I like Harry Potter is because Harry doesn’t get the girl.

And by “girl” I mean the lead female.

That’s right, I ship Ron and Hermione. I DON’T CARE WHAT ROWLING SAID. Even if this is probably one of the best scenes in the films:

But it’s the fact that she turns away that gets me every single time.

Hermione loves Ron dammit. And wizard god knows Ron loves Hermione.

What I like about their relationship is that it develops over time. They hated each other at first. They grow to appreciate and understand each other. They aren’t a perfect couple. They fight. But they always make up in the end.

Though, to be honest, a lot of their fights wouldn’t have occurred if Ron wasn’t being such a prat.

“Well, if you don’t like it, you know what the solution is, don’t you?” yelled Hermione; her hair was coming down out of its elegant bun now, and her face was screwed up in anger.

“Oh yeah?” Ron yelled back. “What’s that?”

“Next time there’s a ball, ask me before someone else does, and not as a last resort!”

tumblr_mh5ge0hh4V1qib98wo3_250

But we all know they seriously care for one another. This scene broke my heart when I read it:

tumblr_m4pzz72Ipf1qgfdd6o12_r1_500Hermione’s screams echoed off the walls upstairs, Ron was half sobbing as he pounded the walls with his fists […] Hermione was screaming worse than ever, and next to him Ron was bellowing, “HERMIONE! HERMIONE!”
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

You know, right before another heartbreaking scene. Deathly Hallows was just full of heartbreak.

Well, heartbreak and swooning. Because they finally get together in this book!

“Come and dance,” [Ron] added abruptly to Hermione. She looked taken aback, but pleased too, and got up. They vanished together into the growing throng on the dance floor.

“Ah, they are together now?” asked Krum, momentarily distracted.

“Er — sort of,” said Harry.

Not just “sort of” by the end of this book!

tumblr_m4pzz72Ipf1qgfdd6o7_250My only gripe is that we don’t really see them in a relationship. I mean, yes, they practically are throughout Deathly Hallows, but if they officially got together in Half Blood Prince, and then tested their relationship in Deathly Hallows, I wonder how the relationship and Harry’s perception of it would be different. I mean, it wouldn’t change much…

…would it?

4 thoughts on “HP Challenge Day 12 – Favourite Ship

  1. Oh, Ron and Hermione are my top favorite couple! And they fight so much because they like each other (but don’t admit it). Deathly Hallows is a heartbreaker.
    I don’t think that Harry’s perception would have been different, he already thought they were together by the beginning of the book. And when Ron leaves, Harry notices how much Hermione is hurting.
    And also, Harry loves her like a sister (he loves Ginny for the other stuff!).

    Like

    1. I definitely agree! I know Rowling said Hermione should have ended up with Harry, but their lack of arguing sort of convinced me that they wouldn’t be romantically involved—there’s no room for them to help each other grow.

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

