Extra

HP Challenge Day 3 – Why Did The Movies Suck?

Okay, so maybe the question isn’t exactly worded like that. Maybe it’s more like: Is there anything in the film adaptations that annoyed you?

Why yes, yes there is.

Namely, why is Ron stupid?

So much of the infodumping informing Hermione does in the movies are actually Ron’s lines in the books.

The Mudblood explanation? Ron.

The Parseltongue explanation? Ron (bonus points because he’s explaining while vomiting slugs).

The wizarding world’s prejudice against giants? Ron.

What I liked in the books was that Hermione was booksmart and Ron was wizarding-streetsmart. Together, they were perfect backup team for Harry.

In the movies, Ron is a bumbling idiot with a fear of spiders who’s there for comic relief.

To be fair, Ron is pretty anxious in the novels. But usually it’s because someone is in danger (which is often).

But Ron is more than that. From the very first book we know that he’s intelligent—he’s a chess player. Do you know what it takes to play chess? Forethought, strategy, analyzing your opponent.

And we all know that whatever Ron jokes about turns out to be true:

“Maybe he got thirty O.W.L.s or saved a teacher from the giant squid. Maybe he murdered Myrtle; that would’ve done everyone a favour…”
-Ron, on Tom Riddle, Chamber of Secrets

No. I can stand Harry not being the snarky smart ass he is in the books, or Hermione without the crooked teeth and frizzy hair because Emma Watson is beautiful, or even COMPLACENT, BORING, LET ME FEED YOU AND TIE YOUR SHOES DON’T YOU TRUST ME? Ginny.

You know what? That’s it. What really sucks about the movies is how the movie writers wrote the characters. They shoved them into tropes: angsty teen hero, braniac, comical sidekick, dull damsel in distress. That’s not interesting, thats a stereotype.

Especially dumbass sidekick Ron Weasley.

But only in the movies.

7 thoughts on “HP Challenge Day 3 – Why Did The Movies Suck?”

  1. It’s crazy that it’s only now you’ve mentioned it that I’ve noticed how different Ron is played in the movie. Except I did quite enjoy his stupidity. My only problem was Ginny. She drove me maaaaad😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with you! I really want to re-read the books (I used to read them once or twice a year, but the last time I read them was five years ago) and so I’m used to the movie versions of the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This post is perfect!!
    I am in the middle of writing mine now I’m wondering if I should just give up and reblog yours… But I’ve already written more than half so I’ll complete it, I suppose.
    But this is awesome!! I love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

