Tag

Would You Rather – Book Edition!

Hey guys! I’m trying my best to catch up with my blogging this weekend. I started a new job two months ago and it’s been kind of crazy (Shuffle Stories…now what was that project again…?)

Today I’m catching up on some tags that I have been—er, tagged for (why does that sound like it’s not a verb at all?).

First is “The Hardest Game of Would You Rather”, and I was tagged by Kayleigh over at Miserable and Magical. I haven’t done these in a while and it looks like fun, so here we go!

1) Would you rather… Drop your favourite book into the toilet OR watch it fall into a wood chipper?

Hm…toilet water book that I could still technically read (but bacteria, gross), or a wood chipper which would destroy it irreversibly? Hm, I probably wouldn’t read it in either case because I hate wet pages with a passion and it my favourite book got destroyed I’d probably just buy another copy. Wood chipper it is.

2) Would you rather… Read only 1 book a year but remember everything OR read 100 books a year but remember nothing?

One book a year, definitely. What’s the point of reading if I can’t remember all the quirky, awesome, witty and heartbreaking moments? Besides, if it was only one book a year, I’d have to be super picky, and that would definitely control the book-buying issue. AND, if I remember it word-for-word, I technically don’t get just one book a year. The number is compounded each year. So ha! Math solves the problem!

3) Would you rather… Read only the first page of a book OR read only the last page of a book?

Last page. The trick to writing stories is knowing the ending before you write the beginning. If I know the ending, I can make up a beginning for myself. I can’t do vice versa.

(Plus, could you imagine reading only the first page? I think I’d die of unsatisfied anticipation.)

4) Would you rather get locked in a library OR get locked in a bookstore?

Definitely the book store. Specifically a giant Chapters. All the books are new, there’s a Starbucks, and they are more likely to have the books I want to read than a library.

5) Would you rather… Drop your book in a lake OR accidentally set it on fire?

As much as I hate wet pages, I’m going with lake on this one. I’ll dry the pages off and everything will be fine.

6) Would you rather… Read a book with a cliffhanger ending OR read a book with a heartbreaking ending?

I love good cliffhangers that connect books in a series (I’m looking at you, Rick-I-wrote-a-literal-cliffhanger-Riordan), but I’m going with a heartbreaking ending, because while I can stand a heartbreaking ending for many books, I can’t stand cliffhangers in every book.

7) Would you rather… Have the book’s ending spoiled OR never know what happens?

The only good thing about spoiling the ending (which also turns out to be the worst thing) is that you can identify clues that will lead up to the inevitable ending. It’s not much different from rereading a book. Spoiled ending it is.

8) Would you rather… read only one genre forever OR never repeat the same genre after reading it once?

I’d pick one genre forever and it would be sci-fi/fantasy (that’s a single genre right? They always lump them together in book stores). I don’t think I could read just Ender’s Game, or just Harry Potter, or just Percy Jackson. That’s just not fair.

9) Would you rather… Read a book where the main character is killed off OR read a book where the love interest is killed off?

I’ve read both kinds of death and frankly I don’t think the two terms are mutually exclusive. If two protagonists are in a relationship and one of them dies, that just sucks. I’m going to pick love interest though, because love interests are sometimes just a character on the side. (For example, if Movie!Ginny died, I’d be completely fine with it. If Book!Ginny died, I would have bawled my eyes out as Harry hugs her body.)(Now I have that image in my head. Good job, Leanna.)

10) Would you rather… Read a book that’s missing the middle chapter OR read a book that’s missing the first and last chapters?

Hm, this one is tough. I notice it’s only one chapter in the middle, but two chapters of the ends. So…middle chapter?

11) Would you rather… love a book everyone hates OR hate a book everyone loves

Love a book everyone hates. I hate criticizing books, even though I love ranting. Push those negative feelings away!

12) Would you rather… loan a book to a friend who’s known to ruin books OR drop a book in a pit of snakes?

Snake pit. How are snakes going to ruin a book? (And I can just get it back…some how…can I drop the book from a fishing line?)

13) Would you rather…. Be stuck on a deserted island without a book OR be stuck in a library full of books in a language you can’t read

If I was stuck on a deserted island, the only thing a book would be good for is kindling (unless its a guide on how to escape a deserted island). Meanwhile, in a library of a foreign language, I can’t understand anything, except pictures. At least the deserted island has food…theoretically.

14) Would you rather… Bring only 1 book on a 12 hour flight OR bring an e-reader with only 10% left on a 4 hour flight?

One book. I prefer hardcopy to ebook (despite the weight difference…that counts on planes), plus I wouldn’t just be reading. I can’t sleep on planes,but longer flights usually have excellent movies.

15) Would you rather… Find out your best friend hates your favourite book OR share a favourite book with your worst enemy?

I’m assuming “share” means “share interest”, because if it’s a physical copy then, NO WAY. But yeah, favourite book with worst enemy.


And that’s it! I’m a little lazy to tag anyone, but if this interests you, feel free to post your own answers. And let me know in comments, because I want to see them!

4 thoughts on “Would You Rather – Book Edition!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

