The Playlist

The Playlist | Banana Pancakes by Jack Johnson

I’ve been on a slight acoustic spree and I have a soft spot for songs with silly names. Combine the two and you get “Banana Pancakes.”

Jack Johnson is one of those artists where I’m surprised I didn’t listen to his music ages ago, especially when you consider how much time in high school I spent listening to Jason Mraz. Johnson’s style is just light and sunny and it makes me happy listening to it.

I’ve only just started listening to his music, but my favourite songs are probably “Banana Pancakes,” “Washing Dishes,” and “Inaudible Melodies” The titles sound pretty unconventional, but they really are fun to listen to. Johnson has a great sense of rhythm with the guitar.

Each song also has a distinct meaning. “Washing Dishes” is about moving up the corporate ladder, “Inaudible Melodies” is about the progression of technology, and “Banana Pancakes” is about trying to get a lover to stay a little longer. No exactly productive, but it’s a fun song.

I actually don’t know where I’m going with this, so I’m just going to end with my favourite lyrics:

When the whole world fits inside of your arms
Do we really need to pay attention to the alarm?

Make the story even longer with a comment:

