Tag

Is It Liebster Week?

After Monday’s Liebster award, I got nominated for two more, once by Melanie at Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile, and again by Nerdybirdy at Daydreaming Books. Thank you very much to both of them! You should check out their blogs for some awesome content.

I’ll be skipping the nominations this time around, instead referring back to the nominations made on Monday. Feel free to check out the questions I’ve posted there and answer them if you so choose!

picsart_1428320135091

Melanie’s questions:

1.  If you could live in any single fictional universe, which would it be and why?

Ah, so many to choose from! As much as I want to say Hogwarts (because, Hogwarts) I’d still be a muggle. The question suggests that I stay the way I am, just somewhere elsw. Where can I still be a boring human but have an awesome time?

Oh! Can I go to Amestris a la Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood? I could learn alchemy, or become an automail mechanic, or travel to places like Shing.

2.  Tell us your favourite and least favourite book to movie adaptations.

My favourite book to movie adaptation has to be Catching Fire. they captured the message of the book while still making it their own and remaining faithful to the story.

As for my least favourite (oh, so many to choose from…) I’m going to have to go with Percy Jackson and the Olympians. My first thought was Ella Enchanted, but PJO was absolutely destroyed by the movies. Even Rick Riordan hates them:

even rick hates the movies tweets

3.  Tell us the story of a favourite book that didn’t start out as a favourite.

Oh so many: The Lunar Chronicles, The Infernal Devices, Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Funnily enough, my encounters with them were relatively the same. It starts with the large hype for the books pressuring me into reading them, me reading the first book and thinking it was sort of meh, people telling me to “keep going because this series just gets better!”—and then I fall irreversibly in love with the characters in the following books, followed by an insane book hangover.

4.  If you were part of the world of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 and assigned one book to memorize, which book would you hope was chosen for you?

I still need to read Fahrenheit 451. (Checks TBR. Ah yes, there it is: #394 on the list.) There’s so many books to choose from though…this is terribly difficult.

I think I’d choose Frankenstein, because I like the message it carries, and it’s my favourite classic.

5.  Favourite sports team?

I…I don’t watch sports. Unless its the Winter Olympics. And only if it’s hockey or ice dancing. So…Team Canada? (Awkwardly hides in a corner from the sports fans…)

(Peeks out.) Oh! Can I say Holyhead Harpies? Ginny’s professional Quidditch team? Yes? No?

*crickets*

6.  Name a song that makes you smile anytime you hear it.

I don’t really have a song like that. It changes from time to time. At the moment, when I need something upbeat, I listen to Walk the Moon’s album, Walk the Moon. 

7.  Do you play any instruments and if not, what is an instrument you have always wanted to learn?  Even if you play an instrument, what is another one you have wanted to learn?

I play guitar and ukelele. I played the trumpet in elementary school, but I don’t anymore. So I guess I’d want to (re)learn the trumpet, as well as learn the piano and violin.

8.  If you could visit or live in a historical time period, which would you choose and why?

I’ll just visit, because I like modern plumbing, and I’d go to Elizabethan England so I can watch The Tempest in The Globe Theatre. The Tempest is my favourite play by Shakespeare, and I’ve always been curious as to how he conceived the “clever contraption” used to make the feast disappear.

9.  Based upon your experiences with education, what is the most important change you wish to see?

I would sort classes based on aptitude and learning style rather than age. I did fairly well in school, but I knew a lot of people who just scraped by just because they needed to pass for the next year. Meanwhile, I would be assigned in groups with people who didn’t care or didn’t understand, and I would either end up teaching material or do most of the work, rather than working with people who were just as passionate as I was about the subject matter.

10.  What is your most recently watched item on Netflix?

I don’t have Netflix, but I have been watching The 100. I’m loving it, and I hear there’s a novel that the TV series is based on. (I heard the novel is terrible though, so I’m probably not going to read it.)

Nerdybirdy’s questions:

1. How long have you been a reader?

The minute I learned to read (around 6 years old) I was hooked. But before that, I was obsessed with stories.

2. Suppose you have a wide list of choice, how are you gonna pick which book to read?

When picking the next book to read, the decision is wholly dependent on what I’m in the mood for. I can actually give you the thought process of the order of the last five books I read:

I need to read The Shadow Line for school. *reads* That was a pretty good coming-of-age, I’m kind of in the mood for another…The Spectacular Now. *reads* Hm, that was nice, but kind of dark. Now I want something with a bit more fluff. I heard Fangirl is good. Plus there was that “I Didn’t Write This” video about it. Cath and Levi seem like a good relationship to read about. *reads* Hm, not exactly what I was hoping for. Is there any Rainbow Rowell book I’ll like on the first shot? Well there is Attachments…*reads* FAVOURITE. RAINBOW. ROWELL. BOOK. EVER. I don’t think I can read another slice-of-life romcom-ish for a while, it won’t compare. Hm…Gone is a sci-fi, pseudo-post apocalyptic situation. Sure, let’s go with that.

3. Any recent favourite adorkable character?

Cress from The Lunar Chronicles. She’s too cute! (And a computer genius!)

4. Where do you like to buy books?

I buy a good portion of my books online because they are cheaper and it’s sort of nice to have a box come in the mail with a bunch of books I’ve been dying to own. I recently ordered a hardcopy of Ready Player One because I’ve listened to the audiobook twice now and I feel like that begs hardcopy ownership.

I am notorious for scouring through book sales though. I go to thrift stores to buy used books on the cheap, and the sale section of small bookstores. I’ve found some pretty good books there.

5. What is your worst bookish habit?

I multiread. Which leads me to abandoning books quite a bit. See Gone With The Wind in my Goodreads widget? Haven’t touched that in months.

6. Do you wait for the paperback or grab the hardcover?

How desperate am I to read the book? Is the hardcover on sale? My entire collection of Heroes of Olympus is in hardcover because I bought the books as they came out, and my copy of Days of Blood and Starlight is hardcover because it was only $6. That copy of Ready Player One I recently ordered though? Paperback, because it’s cheaper.

7. What’s your hobby beside reading?

I’m really into music. I play guitar and am notorious for singing in the shower.

8. Do you watch any tv shows? If yes, what are your favourite ships?

Yes I watch TV shows! The only TV ships I’m serious about are Sheldon/Amy from The Big Bang Theory, Monica/Chandler from Friends, and Regina/Robin Hood from Once Upon a Time. (No particular ships in The 100, or How to Get Away With Murder jump out at me.)

9. What gift did you get on your last birthday?

I got an awesome red plaid shirt from my sister, who knows I have an unhealthy addiction to plaid shirts. (I’m wearing one right now.)

10. Which flavour do you love the most?

This is difficult. Flavour of what? Ice cream? Cake? Coffee creamer? Yogurt? Bubble tea?

In which case, my answers are: Cherry, chiffon with fresh fruit on top, vanilla, kiwi, and lychee green tea.

11. What are you passionate about?

To sum them all up, I’d have to say I’m passionate about understanding the world around me by all means possible. That means studying scientific laws and principles. It means reading books and looking for hidden meanings and realistic characters. And it means listening to music that expresses what words can’t.

And that’s all the questions! Thanks again to Melanie and Nerdybirdy!

8 thoughts on “Is It Liebster Week?”

  1. Actually, you’re right, I think it is Liebster week! 😛 I also think Catching Fire was one of the best book to movie adaptations! And I couldn’t agree any more with 2 and 5 of your second set of questions! I started Emma last month and it’s collecting dust in the corner of my room (literally).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just want to pretend the PJ films never happened… On a happier note: I love Regina and Robin! (Though maybe not such a happy note as they’re not together right now, but I can hope right?) Also yes to plaid skirts! 😀

    Like

    1. Yay! Regina and Robin! I got really excited a few weeks ago because the preview made it look like they were getting back together…and then it was just Regina’s dream. TV producers are trolls.

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

