Tag

The Ultimate Book Tag

Thanks to Summer at xingsings for tagging me. This looks like fun!

(1) Do you get sick while reading in the car?

No. I think I wouldn’t be able to read at all if I couldn’t read on moving vehicles, since I read on transit all the time.

(2) Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Laurence Sterne, the author of Tristram Shandy. His style is absolutely nuts. There is no real plot line. He goes off on tangents so frequently he can’t even finish a sentence properly, using commas and m and n dashes to force pauses. He breaks the fourth wall over and over, really pushing the idea that we can never truly convey what we are thinking, even if we wrote our entire train of thought down.

(3) Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

This is actually a question? Harry Potter. Every. Single. Time.

Why? (1) The characters are well developed and have important and interesting backstories, (2) each book is necessary and builds to the overarching plot, and (3) wizards are better than vampires.

(4) Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

I carry a backpack to school, which carries my laptop, notebooks, pencil case, lunch, wallet, and umbrella.

(5) Do you smell your books?

Um…no. (At least not intentionally.)

(6) Books with or without little illustrations.

Depends on the illustrations. I like maps, especially in books where the setting is key. The illustrations in Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods and the Leviathan series are absolutely gorgeous. I wouldn’t mind it if all books had that kind of illustration.

(7) What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Twilight. Refer to (3).

(8) Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

When I was three, I used to drive my babysitters crazy because I wanted them to read to me the same book over and over. They tried to trick me by skipping a few pages when they thought I wasn’t looking, but it didn’t really matter because I’d either notice and ask them to go back or just read the whole thing over again when it was over.

(9) What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

I have a copy of Keep Calm and Have a Cupcake. It’s so cute and tiny!

(10) What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare. I haven’t read all of the plays though. (My favourite is The Tempest.)

(11) Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Well, I write this blog. But yeah, I’d like to be published some day.

(12) When did you get into reading?

At a very young age. (Refer to 8.)

(13) What is your favourite classic book?

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

(14) In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Um…if we’re talking about numerical grades, then no. My best grade was math.

(15) If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I would accept the gift, and then probably donate it, because if I didn’t like it, it doesn’t mean someone else won’t.

(16)  was supposed to be here, but now it’s disappeared?

Maybe it apparated?!

(17) What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I don’t know if it’s a bad habit (maybe it’s just a part of my writing style), but I use parentheses and m-dashes a lot—ironic huh?

(18) What is your favourite word?

I love every word equally, simply because I owe them everything.

(19) Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Nerd. (Though I’m not really sure if the terms are mutually exclusive.)

I’m assuming for the last few questions, it’s asking which I would rather read about:

(20) Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Bloodsucking monsters who can’t go out in daylight or beings who can fly and have magic? Fairies. Because magic.

(21) Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels, of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone variety. More specifically the Hazael variety. He was cool. (Though to be fair, the chimaera were sort of shapeshifters…sort of?)

(22) Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

I’ve had a bad experience with books about spirits. And a bad experience with books about werewolves. I’m going with werewolves—but they must be of the Wolf-from-Lunar-Chronicles variety (or the Remus Lupin variety).

(23) Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Hm, technically they are both beings whose bite will transform you into one of their own. I’m tired of vampire stories though. Bring on the zombies!

(Keep in mind I have not read or watched any zombie stories.)

(24) Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Both are tropes, so I’m going to compare my favourite versions of them: Jem/Tessa/Will vs. Karou/Akiva.

I’m going with forbidden love on this one. Love triangles always seem so…predetermined. Clare’s triangle is probably the best I’ve ever read, but I always felt like Tessa should have ended up with Will. Meanwhile, Karou and Akiva’s story is about how hard it is to find love, and it questions whether we really deserve it when we consider the means we use to get it. All forbidden love stories feel this way, meanwhile love triangles are always about axing one of the vertices off so the other two can be happy. And that’s sort of cruel.

(25) And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Always action-packed with romance thrown in. In books with action, romantic scenes are like a break from the anxiety. In romance novels, there is no break, just loads and loads of drama.

I’m not going to tag anyone specifically, so if you feel like answering these questions, feel free to!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

