The Playlist

The Playlist | Smile by Mikky Ekko

Are you really surprised by this? Really?

With the release of the Paper Towns trailer and my penchant for alternative pop and rock, of course I fell in love with the song.

I remember first hearing the name “Mikky Ekko” associated with Rihanna on that ballad, “Stay.” I didn’t really bother to look him up though.

Until now.

Like with The Colourist and Walk the Moon…I heard one song, found the album and fell in love with all of it.

Mikky Ekko’s voice isn’t really distinctive…frankly it reminds me of Mika, and his overall sound reminds me of One Republic mixed with Bastille mixed with Imagine Dragons. But there’s something about his music that I like. Plus the guitar at the beginning reminds me of “Youth” by Daughter.

“Smile” in particular has this infinite feeling about it. (I’ve always wanted to make an “I feel infinite” playlist, named loving after the famous line from Perks of Being a Wallflower.)

Along with “Smile,” I’ve been listening to “Burning Doves,” “Love You Crazy,” and “Made of Light” almost non-stop. Definitely check his music out!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

