The EpicReads Tag

Huge thanks to Kayleigh over at Miserable and Magical for tagging me. The link is for her answers to the tag, which are pretty awesome and you should go check them out.

Question 1: If you could invite one author and one of their fictional characters to tea, who would you invite and what would you serve them?

Two different pairs come to mind. The first is LM Montgomery and Anne Shirley. Who wouldn’t want tea with Anne Shirley (provided she serves actual cherry cordial)? The thing is, Montgomery, while an amazing woman, I know very little about her.

So there’s also my second choice: Laini Taylor and Karou, and we’d go to Poison. We’d drink tea and eat pastries. Just reading about the place made me want to go there. Laini runs an amazing blog and her writing is absolutely gorgeous. Plus, she looks so friendly in her interviews. I’d love talking to her about magic and fantasy and books.

Question 2: What book do you wish the author would write the prequel for?

Okay, everyone is saying JK Rowling, and as much as I want a story int he Marauders era, I’m not going to say her.

I’ve always wanted to know what happened to Haymitch in the Hunger Games. I mean, Catching Fire explains how Haymitch won, but they don’t show the whole game or the aftermath and its effect on Haymitch. Yeah, I think I’ll go with that. Suzanne Collins, write Haymitch’s story. Or better yet, make a small anthology with stories about the victors. What was going on in Johanna’s mind during her games? Or Finnick? Or….oh my god, what about Annie?

Now I really want this book to exist.

Question 3: Which two characters (NOT from the same book) do you think would make a good couple?

I want to pair Reyna from Heroes of Olympus with someone, because she’s awesome, and she keeps falling in love with people she can’t have. And yes, I realize she doesn’t need a guy to be happy, but wouldn’t it be nice for her to fall in love with someone who loves her back?

Reyna needs someone who she can rely on. Someone who can make her relax and have fun, but knows to give her her space when she needs it. Which is why I’d probably pair her up with  Jem Carstairs from Infernal Devices. Jem is nice, extremely loyal, and knows how to enjoy himself. (Plus he knows the romantic gestures that will break through her hard facade.) What’s more, he knows how to see past the veils that people shroud themselves in.

And Reyna? Reyna knows how to give people space and comfort them without their knowing. She also knows how to read people, to be self-sacrificing. And that’s Jem’s big problem: he doesn’t like being coddled. And Reyna would be able to comfort him without making him feel weak.

Question 4: If you ran into your favourite author on the subway and only could say one sentence to them who is it and what would it be?

I have to pick just one? Not fair.

“Thank you for making me proud of being a nerd, DFTBA.”

(Is the comma cheating? I don’t think so.)(Besides, DFTBA on its own hardly constitutes a sentence.)(I did clarify that I’m talking to John Green, right?)(Because, John Green.)

Question 5: What book made you a reader and why?

The Cat In The Hat Comes Back by Dr. Seuss and Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman. Yup, I was a book nerd from the start. My mom tells me stories about how I would beg to have a book read to me over and over, and so to trick me, they would try to skip pages. Usually this didn’t work because I’d either (1) notice and demand to go back, or (2) just ask to have the whole book read again. Funnily enough, people thought I had learned to read at the age of three because I would open the book to look at the pictures and recite the lines aloud from memory.

Question 6: Your bookshelf just caught fire! What is the one book you would save?

Why would you do this to me?

The problem here is do I pick sentimentality or materialism? If I go with sentimentality, I have to pick PJO. And yes, I mean all five books, because I have the boxed set so I think it would be easier to grab the whole lot of them than painstakingly pull one book out. Those books are worn out to death (tape is holding their peeling spines) and I love them too much.

But there is also Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor, which I’m picking because (1) it’s not cheating (as much as I like to) since it’s only one book, and (2) it’s the only book I own that’s signed! (Well, it comes with a print of Karou that’s signed, so that counts.)

Question 7: Which dystopian world would you want to live in and why?

This is difficult because my immediate reaction is NO. No, I do not want to live in a dystopian. That would suck. That’s why it’s called “dystopian”.

I’m going to go with Ready Player One because how awesome would it be to log in to the OASIS? I mean, I’m terrible at video games (my ineptitude at Mario is astounding), but the OASIS is like the internet but in 3D. Besides, with Wade and Samantha investing their prize money in saving the planet, there’s some hope in that dystopia. And maybe I could meet them and help them save the world (Samantha’s from Vancouver, I could meet her, it could work.)

Question 8: What is your most Epic Read of all time?

Um…every time I read a book? Seriously, how is no one freaking out the minute they put down a book, thinking, “Wow, what a miracle it is that I can understand these symbols on paper and be transported to world where all this crazy, heartbreaking, amazing stuff happens”? That’s pretty epic, if you ask me.

Now I have to tag some people. 

Coffeelant
The Last Reader
A Blast of Random
Fangirl World

And you, reader, if you feel so inclined. Feel free to answer some of the questions in comments. Have fun!

2 thoughts on “The EpicReads Tag

  1. Actually I’m currently in the process of writing this post since The Writing Hufflepuff tagged me too.
    Thanks for the tag again!

    I’m only stuck at one question which I won’t allow myself to answer with “Marauders!!!!!!”
    So yeah, once I come up with another answer- I’ll post it.. Hehe..
    Loved your answers (some of ours are similar!) 😀

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

