The Playlist

The Playlist | Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy Soundtrack

I feel bad about not putting up a Playlist post last weekend, and this idea has been bouncing around in my head for a while now. I miss making up soundtracks for books, so maybe this will become a more regular feature.

I’m still in a book hangover from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, and while I was reading the series, these songs kept coming to mind.


Bones by MsMr

Boy with a broken soul
Heart with a gaping hole
Dark twisted fantasy turned to reality

This song immediately popped into my head because of that specific lyric. Plus, the song has this eerie tone to it, reminding me of the first half of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, with all the desperation and drama that floods the series.

Sugar by Maroon 5

‘Cause I really don’t care where you are
I just wanna be there where you are
And I gotta get one little taste

You know what scene I’m referring to. The song fits it quite literally, and more than just Madrigal’s sugar dusting. Sweets are a big deal in this story—they’re a sign of decadence and luxury. Throughout the finale, Karou bemoans the postponing of “cake”—in other words, time alone with Akiva, just to relax and be together.

Garands by Young the Giant

Now look what I’ve become
Before the day is done
Now that we have won

This song was chosen for the Misbegotten, specifically Liraz and Hazael. It’s essentially about a soldier who has been wrapped up with war for so long, they don’t know what else to do other than war.

In Another Life by Vienna Teng

You and I
Side by side
We are the next time ’round

For the longest time I wanted to rewrite the lyrics to this to fit Karou and Akiva because seriously how awesome would that be? The song is about a series of reincarnations, and the lovers always find each other in the next life. It just fits.

Marchin’ On by OneRepublic

There’s so many wars we fought,
There’s so many things we’re not,
But with what we have,
I promise you that,
We’re marching on

Of the songs that I’ve posted so far, none of them really have that air of hope that “Marchin’ On” does. By the end of the trilogy, the characters have learned that on top of hoping and dreaming for a better world, they have to take it one step at a time.

Eine Kline Nachtmusik by Mozart

I couldn’t very well not put a violin song on this soundtrack. To be honest, I was hesitant to choose Eine Kline Nachtmusik because (1) that’s just too easy, and (2) I wasn’t sure if it was romantic enough for the utter adorable that is Mik and Zuzana. I wanted something that was playful and romantic at the same time, because that just fits them. But I realized there’s a reason why Mik plays this for her, and that reason is because it does have that playfulness in it, the small repeats kind of remind me of a fast heart beat or butterflies in your stomach (Papillus stomachus, if you will).

Make the story even longer with a comment:

