Tag

Frozen Book Tag

This tag was made by TheWritingHufflepuff, who posted her answers last Friday. She’s designed it so there’s a question associated with each song from the Frozen soundtrack. And since I really like the Frozen soundtrack and I love books, I thought it’d be fun!

Frozen Heart

There’s beauty and there’s danger here
Split the ice apart
Beware the frozen heart…

Beautiful! Powerful! Dangerous! Cold! What character do you think of when you hear this description?

I don’t know why, but I instantly think of the Seelie Queen from The Mortal Instruments. Or any of those stoic female figures who have all the power but don’t help the protagonists because it’s more “interesting” to watch things play out, so they seem more like asshats than powerful beings.

Do You Want to Build a Snowman?

Do you wanna build a snowman?
Come on, let’s go and play!

A character you want to build a snowman with.

Karou and Zuzana from Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Their artistic skills would mean they would make the best things out of snow, and their silliness means it would end with an epic snow ball fight—and I’m up for both!

For the First Time in Forever

For the first time in forever
I’m getting what I’m dreaming of…

You haven’t been able to read anything in a long time and your TBR pile has been growing larger and larger. What book (of your TBR pile, so no rereads) would you pick?

Oh, so many to choose from! Going to have to go with Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I have heard nothing but good things about this book, and I have a good history with Cinderella retellings.

Love Is an Open Door

I mean it’s crazy
We finish each other’s—
—Sandwiches!
That’s what I was gonna say!

With what book or which character (or both!) would love be an open door with it? Or for what book/which character would you close the door?

Open a door for: Gah, this is hard. TheWritingHufflepuff answered Will Herondale, so I’m not going to say him (even if he is an awesome book nerd). Um…um…Jem Carstairs? (I have Infernal Devices on my mind, I was rereading scenes Clockwork Prince on my way home today.) Jem is just sweet, and beautiful, and funny. As for a book, the door will always be open for…(I don’t want to say Percy Jackson or Harry Potter because those are obvious). Okay, The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. I fell for this series fast and hard, and it is amazing.

Close the door for: Jace Herondale. (Yup, Shadowhunters are definitely on my mind.) I’m sorry, I don’t see this guy’s appeal. Maybe he gets better in the last three books, but I don’t know. He just comes off as a jerk for all the books I read him in. Also, going to have to close the door on Paradise Lost. It’s hard to read and hard to like.

Let it Go

Here I stand in the light of day
Let the storm rage on
The cold never bothered me anyway

A book or book series you used to love but you let it go.

I don’t have one…?

I mean, there are books that I used to read all the time but I don’t anymore because I grew out of them. Namely juvenile series like Abbey Hayes and The Files of Madison Finn. I guess, I could say Twilight, but I always had a problem with the books to begin with, so I can’t say I loved it.

Can I change this question? I kind of want to change this question to: What book is your guilty pleasure? Simply because “Let it go” is about giving yourself the freedom to do what you want without societal pressure and fear holding you back.

In which case, I think I’d choose Anna and the French Kiss.

I’ve made it very clear that I don’t read chick lit. Books like The Lonely Hearts Club and The Juliet Club ruined the genre for me with their pandering and cliches. I love romantic side plots, but if there’s nothing else to beef up the story I’ll leave it fast.

Anna and the French Kiss is different though. I don’t know what it is about this book, because it is just as plagued with cliche and trope as the other two. But novel has charm (possibly all Etienne’s), and I will always go back and read scenes like she’s-my-pregnant-girlfriend-so-can-I-have-your-seat, or we-might-kiss-in-detention-but-Josh-walked-in, or he’s-terrified-of-heights-but-he’s-in-love-with-her-so-he-climbed-all-the-way-up-just-to-tell-her.

Reindeers Books Are Better Than People

‘Cause people will beat you and curse you and cheat you
Every one of them’s bad except you

Books are better than people. We all know that.

Let’s say you’re tired of people today. What book would you rather spend the day with?

Paper Towns by John Green. A rather fitting decision, I realize, because it’s the kind of book that reconciles myself to those people I’m tired of.

In Summer

Bees’ll buzz
Kids’ll blow dandelion fuzz
And I’ll be doing whatever snow does in summer…

A book perfect for summer!

Umm…all the books?

Summer was when I used to go to the library every week with a bag because I couldn’t carry all the books home otherwise. But if I have to pick a book that I’d take on a road trip or to the beach during the summer, I’d think I’d go with Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

Fixer Upper

The way to fix up this fixer upper
Is a little bit of love!

A book that’s a bit of a fixer-upper and should be fixed with a little bit of love ?

No hesitation: Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. I feel like this book could have been such a better finale. It was just full of plot holes and disappointment and needs to be fixed.

I’m tagging YOU, reader, to do this tag if you feel inclined to do so. Have fun with it!

2 thoughts on “Frozen Book Tag”

Make the story even longer with a comment:

