Review

Review | Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

And yet another wonderful trilogy ends. What a crazy roller coaster.

81daXTtqY6L._SL1500_

Summary

Wedding crashers take a back seat. Nothing you could possibly do could be worse than what’s happened to Jem and Tessa’s engagement.

With the sudden appearance of a new demon, the threat of Mortmain, and unavoidable death, plans are shattered and hearts are broken. In order to destroy the Nephilim, Mortmain needs Tessa. He will do anything to get her…

…and Will and Jem are willing to do anything to make sure that doesn’t happen.

Plot

The supernatural plot in this book is definitely what the last two books lacked. Do I wish it were fleshed out more? Of course. Do I like how it ended? HECK YES. When Tessa does the thing and…

Sorry, almost dipped into spoilerific territory.

As of the romantic side of things, and the relationships in general, my heart was broken and repaired so many times in this novel. It was a roller coaster, and while I loved much of it, I was also rolling my eyes at times.

Seriously, does everyone have to be paired together?

Characters

What can I say that you don’t already know? I love Tessa, Will, Jem, Charlotte, Henry, Sophie, Gideon…all of them! Seeing Will letting his emotions out, Jem struggling with his addiction, Charlotte and Henry being all sweet on each other, and Sophie standing up for herself—all so awesome.

And Tessa is a great female protagonist. She’s flawed, but strong. She’s lady-like, but stubborn. And it’s really easy to see her growth over the series in this book. Definitely up there with Hermione Granger, Annabeth Chase, and Katniss Everdeen in the list of best female protagonists.

I can (finally) talk about Mortmain, because he’s a focus in this book. While I think his motivations are understandable, I would have loved a scene or two in his point of view. I couldn’t sympathize with him, which made him seem like a weak villain, despite the mechanical power he has. Between him and the sexist Consul Wayland, they were forces that I didn’t want to win, but they weren’t particularly menacing either. I never felt like they were going to win, so I never got excited over them.

And, because they are relatively new, I want to talk about Gabriel and Cecily. They fit into the main group rather flawlessly, and reading about their struggles with their families was definitely entertaining. I was endeared to them rather quickly.

Writing

There was something strange about Clare’s writing in this book. The pacing was really off. Usually, her choppy scenes between points of view keeps the book fast paced. And while it takes a while to get used to, I had enjoyed it in the past two books.

Here, it’s like I’m on a bus where the driver accelerates like he’s late, and then breaks super hard whenever it needs to stop. It didn’t flow as well as I’d hoped. Occasionally the romance got cheesy, but other than that, I was okay with the writing.

Also, because I haven’t mentioned it in previous reviews, I have to mention that I like how Clare integrates Mandarin and Welsh into the character dialogues. It adds to their overall character, and its indicative of certain things. When Cecily and Will slip into Welsh because they’re accustomed to bantering in that language, there’s an air of nostalgia about it, despite me never having previously read about them arguing in Welsh.

Themes

I mentioned in my Clockwork Prince review that now that the characters are released from their definitions, they now have to deal with it. And I like how each person embraces what they have learned about themselves by the end of the book.

As for the romantic themes, the love triangle started to seem very Will vs. Jem for a bit. The epilogue, however, contains an idea that I wish was fleshed out more, and that’s about the fact that mortality puts a limit on love. (Or does it?)

Of course, this idea was played with with Jem’s situation, but I think Tessa’s side, that of immortality, could have added another dimension to the romance. Why not, on top of the whole locked-in-a-triangle situation, have Tessa questioning whether or not she even wants to be in a triangle at all? Because everyone she loves will die while she stays the same. That fear of heartbreak, especially after the loss of her aunt and Nate, could have played out really well.

As it is, I love what the bond between Tessa, Jem, and Will represents. It’s love, but it’s beyond a sort of romantic love you don’t often see in YA fiction.

Final Verdict

Clockwork Princess does its best to wrap up a solid trilogy. Is it flawed? Yes, but what book isn’t? It’s a good read that focuses on character interactions and growth. It explores what love is, and how we bar ourselves by imposed definitions. And it isn’t limited to romantic love. Rather, it’s exceeded by familial love and the bonds not between people, but souls. I guarantee you will fall in love with these characters the more you read.

Recommendation: Buy. Finish this series. You won’t be disappointed.

Recommendation for The Infernal Devices: Buy. Those looking for a romance with a fantastical element should check out this trilogy. It’s not really action oriented, but the characters and their relationships are a great read, and deserves at least one read through. (Plus several rereads of all the character interactions because COME ON.) (I’ve read every Gideon and Sophie scene so many times…)

2 thoughts on “Review | Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

    1. Believe me, I’m already there. I can’t stop thinking about these characters. That epilogue wrecked me.

      And I can’t believe I forgot to mention that Henry introduced Magnus to glitter. Or just Magnus in general. Magnus is awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

