Notable Quotables | Clockwork Angel

The review for Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare will be up soon! For now, here’s some notable quotables!

Tessa is a pretty strong female lead. I like how she’s inquisitive and loves books.

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

“Only the very weak-​minded refuse to be influenced by literature and poetry”

But Tessa’s character also struggles with her identity in the novel. This leads to some good quotes:

What if one of the times I Changed, when I turned back into myself, I didn’t do it quite right? What if this isn’t even my true face?

“But now I cannot help but wonder if perhaps the life I had before was the dream and all this was the truth.”

How strange to have the power to literally transform yourself into other people, and yet be so unable to put yourself in their place.

…But what I like even better is Jem’s response to her identity crisis:

Whatever the color, the shape, the design of the shade that conceals it, the flame inside the lamp remains the same. You are that flame.”

“Sometimes,” Jem said, “our lives can change so fast that the change outpaces our minds and hearts. It’s those times, I think, when our lives have altered but we still long for the time before everything was altered–that is when we feel the greatest pain.

“You’ve always been what you are. That’s not new. What you’ll get used to is knowing it.”

Jem actually gets the best lines in this novel. Besides those, there are also:

“Inanimate objects are harmless indeed, Mr. Mortmain. But one cannot always say the same of the men who use them.”

I do not believe you can threaten people into goodness.

It is as great a thing to love as it is to be loved. Love is not something that can be wasted.”

I’m am a little questioning about the syntax and diction in the novel, since it seems a little more modern than Victorian. But if it gives my cheeky lines of dialogue like this:

“let me give you a piece of advice. The handsome young fellow who’s trying to rescue you from a hideous fate is never wrong. Not even if he says the sky is purple and made of hedgehogs.”

…I think I can manage.

4 thoughts on “Notable Quotables | Clockwork Angel

  1. I absolutely love Tessa and this series. These books are packed with amazing quotes and just amazing characters in general. The second book was really good as well, but the third one blew me away. I can’t wait to see what you think of the next two! You should definitely do Notable Quotables on them too 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m planning on it! I liked Clockwork Angel, but I’m reading Clockwork Prince now and it just took it one level higher…possibly several. I can’t wait to finish and review it!

      Like

    2. Honestly the first one was my least favourite. The last one blew me away! All of the characters show so much growth over the three books. I didn’t think it was possible to love Jem anymore, but it was!

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

