Review

Review | The Giver by Lois Lowry

I forgot how much I love this book.

The Giver…the original dystopia. (At least for me, it was the first dystopia I read.) (For all you Brave New World enthusiasts)

giver

Summary

Jonas’ world is perfect. No conflict, no pain. No hate, no problems. Everything is pre-planned: assigned with heavy contemplation. Choices are not made lightly.

When he turns twelve, Jonas is selected to be the receiver of memory, and meets the Giver. Only the Giver and Jonas hold the memories of a long forgotten past. Only they know the truth.

Plot

What I love about the plot is the order in which Jonas receives memories. It’s carefully constructed such that you hate the fact that the truth has been taken, but you also understand why they had to be taken in the first place.

Jonas grows from childhood to adulthood over the course of a year, and reading that progression is great.

I don’t entirely understand the ending. And I’m not going to pretend that I do. But it seemed to fit. And I’d call it satisfying enough.

Characters

Jonas is an interesting character to critique. Mostly because he’s a blank slate that grows into a character as the novel progresses. Yes, he’s brave and compassionate and intelligent, and those traits become more apparent as the story goes on. He doesn’t know anything, and over the course of the no el he learns so much.

Most of the characters in The Giver are robotic due to circumstance. Fiona and Asher have stock traits, but very little beyond that.

Jonas begins with these stock traits: he’s naive, he’s duty-driven. But over the course of the novel he learns to think with not only his head, but his heart and instinct as well.

The only other character I can comment on is the Giver, who is a tortured father-like figure. He’s the older version of Jonas, one made wise by time and memories.

Writing

There is no doubt that Lowry’s world building is extensive and descriptive. I love the concept of stages of initiation, and there are heaps of thought put into Jonas’ community.

I do wish I understood the mechanics of the memories better. How does leaving release them? How are they contained?

Other than that, the writing is solid. The novel is well paced; descriptive, yet concise. At times formulaic, at others raw with emotion. And I love the jarring contrast.

Themes

“If you can’t feel, what’s the point?”

I distinctly recall this quote from the movie because I felt like they were throwing the theme in my face. Which they were.

The Giver is about how logic isn’t the only thing necessary for a successful life. Choice, individuality, pain, love—all of these are important too. What’s more, they make life worth it.

I also have to say that the book has a great deal of morality. In a world with no concept of extremes, can there be morals? The idea of release is huge in this idea.

The key to understanding this book isn’t comparing Jonas’ world and our own. It’s comparing how the people in Jonas’ world think in comparison to our own way of thinking. What do we take for granted? What would it mean to you if it was taken away? The idea isn’t that Jonas is special. The idea is that the community is missing something.

Final Verdict

I have always loved the story of The Giver. It is compelling and great read. It has important lessons to teach and a great story to tell.

Recommendation: Bookmarked for life. I’m glad I read this book for school when I was 12. I recommend it to everyone, but especially young people.

7 thoughts on “Review | The Giver by Lois Lowry

  1. I must ask, have you read the other three novels in the series? Reading them clarified a lot of the questions you are left with at the end of The Giver. The second one may not seem connected, but it all begins to come together once you reach the third and then finally the fourth. If you haven’t read them, then you really should – I don’t think you will be disappointed!

    Best wishes,
    Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read Gathering Blue and The Messenger before, but I’m rereading it again since I got Son for Christmas. I don’t remember much though, so it’s fun reading the series again

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I read The Giver for the first time in 7th grade as assigned reading for the year. I didn’t learn there were others til recently. I read them last year and felt quite satisfied finally having the whole story.

      Like

    3. I honestly wish it was a book we read in high school, I think I’d have gotten more out of it. Maybe freshman level reading, I think I’d have had a better understanding of the nuances in the story.

      Like

    4. There is a level of maturity needed to understand the novel fully. I remember the nervous glances we have each other as our teacher read aloud about Jonas’ stirring. And no one really understood the ending.

      But given that Jonas is the same age as we were at the time, I understand why we’d read the novel at that age. It’s a coming-of-age story after all.

      Liked by 1 person

    5. I agree with all of your points, it definitely makes sense why they wanted us to read it at that age. Definitely one of my favorite school reads.

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

