In Medias Res (IMR)

IMR | Why Rom Coms Are Good For You

Reading Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss series has been an interesting experience.

Especially when I go on Goodreads and see the varying opinions on the books. Some love only Anna. Some, like me, despise Lola. Some, unlike me, dislike Isla. Some love the whole series, some hate the lot of them.

The funny thing is, each book depicts a very different kind of relationship. Anna’s story is about being friends first. Lola’s is about physical attraction, proximity. (Well, at least to me, anyways.) Isla’s is about idolizing someone and finding out who they really are.

And I’ve come to understand that what I like and don’t like about these books is indicative of what I think love is.

Which is extremely eye opening.

I love Anna because they are friends first. They pay attention to one another.

I dislike Lola because there doesn’t seem to be a basis for relationship, and yet they end up together. There was no chemistry.

And I love Isla because it addresses how even our loved ones are severely flawed, how dangerous it is to idolize and love them without considering their imperfections.

Coming from a someone who’s never been on a date in her life, this may sound like a limited understanding of what love is, and yes, that’s true. I don’t know, but at least I know what I want.

And people who like Lola found something in Lola and Cricket’s relationship that they think is valuable.

I’m starting to believe that there is at least one rom com out there for each person. Be it Anna, Lola, Isla, any work of Nicolas Sparks or John Green or Rainbow Rowell or whoever—each person in the world has a story of love and romance they hold dear. Because that’s what they think love should be.

5 thoughts on “IMR | Why Rom Coms Are Good For You”

  1. This is a great post ❤ At the moment, I'm struggling to read a book about a girl who is just like 'OMG it's that cute guy I like wait now I'm on love with him' and it's really irritating me. I think it's because that's not my mindset about love – if I ever do fall in love, I want it to be for who they are and not what they look like necessarily. (Plus, I personally don't really think about dating and stuff in the way she does.)
    That's why I prefer romances about outsiders slightly more, I quess – because I can relate to them more.

    Like

    1. Thnaks! And what you’re describing is exactlt what I mean. Like, with Lola, all she talks about is Cricket’s appearance, despite knowing him for a long time. Which is why it infuriates me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post. I didn’t mind Lola but I did find it the least of the series. Anna and Etienne’s relationship was definitely the best one. It ends up being the most stable and it made me fangirl more!

    Like

    1. Thanks! As for Anna and St. Clair, and I’m unreasonably happy that they got engaged at the end of the series! I do salute you for calling him Etienne. Perkins just puts a great emphasis on the intimacy of his first name…I actually feel embarassed about saying a fictional character’s first name 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

