Listopia

High Fives for 2014

2014 includes a lot of blogging milestones for me. My blog is one year old, I’ve written over 200 posts, and I did BookBlogWriMo.

Final Book Count for 2014: 37 books!

(Note that everything is in an arbitrary order.)

Best Books of 2014

I know I had to make one of these for BookBlogWriMo, but that was a little early and there are some changes I had to make:

Ready_Player_One_cover Midnight Robber
aristotle and dante Speaker_dead_cover PJGreekGods

Best Posts of 2014

Most viewed posts that I wrote in the past year

  1. PJO Review | The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan
  2. Review | Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  3. The Playlist | Over the Garden Wall Soundtrack
  4. Notable Quotables | Eleanor & Park
  5. Review | Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods

Favourite Posts of 2014

Different from the posts that the stats said got the most traffic, these are the posts that I’m really proud of writing!

  1.  Seven Thousand – A short story I wrote for my friend, ravenclawsam, based on a prompt she gave me taken from Harry Potter.
  2. *Wildly Not To Scale – One of my favourite posts from BookBlogWriMo, there was a surprisingly large amount of work that went into this.
  3. Thoughts From The Philippines – I loved my trip to the Philippines to visit my family this year, and this was just some reflections from the trip.
  4. If I Shaved My Head…(and other brain farts) – This post’s place on this list may be confusing, but for me its indicative with how comfortable I’ve become on this blog.
  5. Can We Only Ever Tell One Story? – A small revelation about storytelling I had this year.

Biggest Book Hangovers

  1. The Blood of Olympus – Oh, so unexpected. So…anticlimactic. So…ugh.
  2. Ready Player One – First audiobook ever, I re-listened to my favourite scenes over and over and over again.
  3. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – This book just makes me feel (to put it in internet terms) ALL THE THINGS. I’ve probably read the scene where Ari is in the hospital a dozen times.
  4.  The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman – This book made me think. It made me want to keep reading. It also made me give up on it. And I still thought about it for weeks after giving up.
  5. We Were Liars – That ending just messes with my mind.

Unfinished Drafts of 2014

There is an astounding amount of posts that I don’t publish. Here are my top 5:

  1. The Problem With “Smart” – a rant on how the seemingly objective term “smart” is actually really subjective
  2. (Pre) Medias Res | Percy Jackson is Going to Die (And Other Theories) – I had a huge list of theories for The Blood of Olympus. One of them being that Percy Jackson was going to die, presumably as the sacrifice to wake Gaea with Annabeth. I also thought that Octavian was going to kill someone, Leo was going to become immortal, and that Gaea would be stopped right before she rose. Make of that what you will.
  3. If I Don’t Do This, I’ll Lose My Sense of Humour – My first few weeks of my lit class were all about theories of humour. And believe me, it is not funny to analyze what makes something funny…or is it? The post was going to be  series of ranting and bad jokes, which would actually turn out to be discussing the different theories I’d read about. But then school got more hectic and….yeah.
  4. Notable Quotables | The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy – There are a lot of great ideas in Tristram Shandy. Problem is, when you take quotes out of context in this book, you lose about 75% of it’s meaning. The only solution is to quote the entire book (which, besides being plagiarism, would take FOREVER). So I never actually wrote this post to the point where I was satisfied.
  5. 10 Book Characters I Wish Were Mine – My original plan to answer the book boyfriend prompt for BookBlogWriMo was this list. I’m not comfortable talking about fictional characters as if I could date them (well, there have been a few exceptions…) though it’s mostly because I don’t want to date the characters I read about, I;d rather be their best friend. “Mine” in this case meant I had written them myself and was my way of evading the prompt. Contenders for the list were Smeagol, Dolores Umbridge, Percy Jackson, and Frankenstein’s monster.

And that’s the year in a nutshell!

2 thoughts on “High Fives for 2014

Make the story even longer with a comment:

