The Playlist

The Playlist | On The Steps Of The Palace by Stephen Sondheim

It’s funny how there are always movies coming out on Christmas Day. As one of the only institutions open on Christmas Day in combination with a massive premiere day makes the theatre sound like a sardine can.

One such movie that premiered on Christmas day is Into The Woods, and I’m already in love with the song, “On The Steps of the Palace”:

I didn’t know Into The Woods was a broadway musical until I saw the comments on YouTube, but that just means that the movie is full of awesome showtunes. Plus you’ve got Emily Blunt, Johnny Depp, Meryl Streep, Anna Kendrick, and Chris Pine? Yes please, take my money and give me a ticket.

…I actually still have to watch the movie, but the OST is on the internet now, and I have been listening to it like crazy. I love “On the Steps of The Palace” especially.

This is especially funny to me because I greatly dislike the tale of Cinderella. I just don’t like it.

BUT, I have always loved spin-off adaptations of the story: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine, Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix, even the picture book Cinder Edna by Ellen Jackson. And Into The Woods doesn’t appear to be an exception to this rule.

I just love the idea of Cinderella getting overwhelmed and running away, not because she’s out of time, but because she’s scared. I also like that the Prince has the brains to spill pitch on the steps in case she’s flighty.

And (apparently) Kendrick is actually singing a semitone above the original key, which just makes the performance all the more amazing to listen to.

3 thoughts on “The Playlist | On The Steps Of The Palace by Stephen Sondheim

Make the story even longer with a comment:

