Extra

An Update on the Rating System

After a certain post during BookBlogWriMo, I found that I really did not like rating system. To quote myself, “It’s the problem with putting an objective number on a subjective topic…it isn’t really objective.”

So (since I have some time on my hands) I decided that I’m changing my rating system to a subjective system.

Instead of rating the book on a scale of 1-10 in terms of how good it is, like a grade, I’m now rating the book based on how strongly I’d recommend it. The breakdown is as follows:

Don’t Bother: books that aren’t worth the read. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

Maybe: You may or may not like this book. Mixed feelings about the reading experience, but I don’t hate it.

Read: Books that I believe that you should read at least once.

Buy: You’re going to want to own this book. Because it is amazing.

Bookmarked For Life: Read this book. Love this book. Reread it. Feel all the things. Reread it again. Seriously, if you don’t you’re missing out.

Each rating will be directed to a certain audience: lovers of chick-lit, nerds, etc.

I’m going to have a field day updating all my old reviews, but I think it’s a fairer evaluation. Wish me luck!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

