Notable Quotables

Notable Quotables | We Were Liars

Oh I have so many posts to write. Notable quotables, reviews…and I am determined to finish it all up before 2015.

(She says while crossing her fingers behind her back.)

Part of the procrastination is because I’ve been reading We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, rated on GoodReads as the best YA fiction of the year.

While the review will be up in a few days, I definitely like these quotes from the novel:

I like a twist of meaning. You see? Suffer migraines. Do not suffer fools. The word means almost the same as it did the previous sentence, but not quite.
Suffer.
You could say it means endure, but that’s not exactly right.

“Do you understand, Cady? Silence is a protective coating over pain.”

the accumulation of beautiful objects is a life goal. Whoever dies with the most stuff wins.
Wins what? is what I’d like to know.

He built himself a home that isn’t a home. It’s deliberately uncomfortable.

A lot of my favourite quotes are by Gat. He’s very Augustus Waters—a manic pixie dream boy if you wish.

“The universe is seeming really huge right now,” he told me. “I need something to hold onto.”

It’s better for starting over if I run. Because walking will just be awkward.

I also love the inserted fairytale-like chapters. My favourite begins this way:

Once upon a time there was a king who had three beautiful daughters.
No, no, wait.
Once upon a time there were three bears who lived in a wee house in the woods.
Once upon a time there were three billy goats who lived near a bridge.
Once upon a time there were three soldiers, tramping together down the roads after the war.
Once upon a time there were three little pigs.
Once upon a time there were three brothers.
No, this is it. This is the variation I want.

But I love this one the best:

There are endless variations.
And people will continue to tell them.

Make the story even longer with a comment:

