In Medias Res (IMR)

IMR | Ready Player One | My First Audiobook and I Think I’m In Love

I splurged on a Black Friday online sale at Chapters and am now waiting on some new books! Only to feel buyer’s remorse when I realized I forgot about one of the books I have been desperately meaning to read: Ready Player One.

Ready_Player_One_coverSo I finally took those pesky Youtubers on their offer on a free audiobook from Audible.com, and got Ready Player One, narrated by none other than Wil Wheaton.

And I think I’m in love.

The story is amazing so far. I love the focus on world problems and video games and the 80s. I love the voice of the narrator/protagonist (Wade Watts), who is sarcastic, funny, and descriptive. He has a personality, he has passions. I love how it’s set in a not-so-distant future. The setting and tone reminds me a lot of The Last Book in the Universe by Rodman Philbrick.

But the “audio” aspect is phenomenal. It adds that attitude to Wade’s voice, it adds a connotation that can only be made with sound, not words. Wil Wheaton is great to listen to. He’s clear, he’s expressive, and…

Okay, what sealed the deal for me is Chapter 2, where Wade rants about how people lie to children to keep them sheltered. I had to listen to it several times because I loved it, and I went to Goodreads to find it:

“I wish someone had just told me the truth right up front, as soon as I was old enough to understand it. I wish someone had just said: “Here’s the deal, Wade. You’re something called a ‘human being.’ That’s a really smart kind of animal. Like every other animal on this planet, we’re descended from a single-celled organism that lived millions of years ago. This happened by a process called evolution, and you’ll learn more about it later. But trust me, that’s really how we all got here. There’s proof of it everywhere, buried in the rocks. That story you heard? About how we were all created by a super-powerful dude named God who lives up in the sky? Total bullshit. The whole God thing is actually an ancient fairy tale that people have been telling one another for thousands of years. We made it all up. Like Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny. Oh, and by the way … there’s no Santa Claus or Easter Bunny. Also bullshit. Sorry, kid. Deal with it.” (Ch. 2, 10:00)

This is probably means I’m going to need a hardcopy that I can flag like crazy, because that’s the only downside of this whole audiobook deal: I can’t bookmark anything!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

