Tag

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

A HUGE THANK YOU to Spectacles at Spectacles Aglow for nominating me!sisterhood-of-the-world

The Rules:
1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
2. Put the award logo on your blog.
3. Answer the ten questions they’ve set you.
4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Nominate ten people.

So, check off rules 1 and 2! Here are the questions I need to answer:

(1) If you had the ability to time travel, what period of time would you like to live in?

Great question! The problem with this is that I’m an Asian female…and history tends to favour the misogynistic point of view.

I say this because my first thought was Ancient Greece because I’d love to see their theatre, as well as in Elizabethan times, because I’d love to see the Globe, preferably a production of The Tempest.

But then I think about things like plumbing and getting married off like cattle. And the future has too many risky factors.

I think I’d like to time travel so I could be best friends with my grandparents. I’d love to spend more time with them.

(2) What is a genre that you have been neglecting lately?

Ignoring? I’m not *cough* ignoring any *coughcough* genres at the moment *coughcoughDYSTOPIAcough*.

This is probably rather hipster of me, but once a good book or two comes out (let’s theoretically call them The Hunger Games and The Giver) a bunch are bound to follow with similar plot lines and tropes to latch on the growing audience who want to read a book just like it (let’s theoretically call them Divergent, Matched, Maze Runner, Cinder, Legend, The Selection, Shatter Me). This happened with vampires/supernatural beings too. So yeah, avoiding dystopia right now.

…except I recently ordered Cinder by Marissa Meyer online during Black Friday. So…yeah.

(3) Do you have a particular phrase you live by? If not, what’s your favourite quote?

I don’t really live by a particular phrase. And I have a lot of quotes that I love. But if I had to pick a quote to live by, it would have to be this one:

“If you don’t imagine, nothing ever happens at all.”
― John Green, Paper Towns

(4) What is your favourite band or musical artist or orchestra?

Oh, such a hard question, but I’m going to have to go with Young the Giant. I can rock out to their music for hours and never be tired of it. They have this vintage indie-rock sound that I love, and their music is so easy for me to dance to while I’m in the kitchen. (What? No, I don’t dance around my house. When I’m cooking and waiting for the timer to go off. Nope.)

(5) Do you prefer Spring, Summer, Winter or Autumn?

Winter. I love Christmas and ice skating and warm drinks and bundling up in sweaters and blankets. And how snow can blanket the world, making it seem pure and untouched.

(6) Do you prefer the beginning, middle or end of the week typically?

The end of the week! School is done with for the week, I can veg out Friday night, and I’m usually the one cooking. (I like to cook.)

(7) What is your favourite word to use?

This is an interesting question. I’m not quite sure what my favourite word would be, though. I tend to use “however” a lot, but I don’t particularly like using it.

I think I’ll go with “nerd”.

(8) Do you have a pet peeve that literally is just everywhere in your life?

Difficult people on the bus. That’s my pet peeve. And they are everywhere. Every bus. Every train. Every single time.

(9) What is your spirit animal?

My first thought is owl, which a quick google search tells me symbolizes intuition, wisdom, secrets, change, and death. Yeesh.

But I like the idea that the owl is a symbol of intuition and change. The big eyes (my favourite feature of them), represent clarity, even in darkness (since they can see at night).

A bit of nerd trivia: I learned in my mythology class that owls were a sign of back luck or death long before they were associated with wisdom through the Greek goddess Athena.

(10) If you were able to have a 25th hour, where you and a select number of other people were awake (but everyone else wasn’t), what would you use that hour to do?

I love the Midnighters reference! Hmm, let me do some quick math…

The life expectancy in Canada for women at the moment is about 85 years. That’s 31,025 days, so 31,025 extra hours in my life, or about three and a half years extra. That’s kind of nice.

Wait, why did I start with math? If I’m in a Midnighters setting, wouldn’t I have kick-ass powers? I guess that means I’m a polymath. Which means I could make a supercomputer in secret in my spare time. And make millions of dollars! MWAHAHAHA!

*coughs* Sorry, what happened? Knowing me, I’d probably sleep through it and never figure out that I got an extra hour (and be in constant wonder as to why I always feel so well rested…)

Here are the questions I’m asking my nominees:

  1. If you had to choose between only ever reading a book once, or only being able to read the same ten books for the rest of your life, which would you choose?
  2. Thoughts on the Oxford comma?
  3. Explain the title of your blog.
  4. Books: stand alone or series?
  5. You can change one thing about the world. What do you change?
  6. Which book are you most sentimental about?
  7. What’s your favourite colour?
  8. List three things you know to be true.
  9. You’re allowed to vacation in the setting of a book. Where do you go?
  10. Add “In Your Pants” to the end of the title of the last book you read. (For example, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire…in your pants)

What nominees, you ask? These nominees: 

  1. ravenclawsam @ Blast of Random
  2. Kath Quiambao @ Read? Read.
  3. Book Olympus
  4. SarahClare @ A Bit Behind on Books
  5. Ellen @ The Wanderlust Reader
  6. Mia @ Diary of an Introverted Schmuck
  7. Lonely Huntress @ Being a Huntress
  8. Faith @ Fangirl World
  9. Cate @ Reading Good Books
  10. littleonion @ littleonionwrites
7 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. A John Green quote, how hipster of you! 😛 I wasn’t sure if many people would get the Midnighters reference. Fun fact: I actually went to Bixby, Oklahoma to see if any of the buildings mentioned were real…they weren’t there, but the aura was captured spot-on!

    Like

    1. Yeah I was writing my response and I realized that the 25th hour is at night…and recently I’ve been so wiped so from school I can barely make it past 11pm, nevermind the secret hour :p

      Liked by 1 person

Make the story even longer with a comment:

