As If The Book Obsession Wasn’t Enough

BookBlogWriMo prompt: Cheating on Books: TV and Movies

I’ll admit it: I cheat on books a lot.

I am currently watching Once Upon a Time, The Big Bang Theory, Downton Abbey, How to Get Away With Murder, Suits, and Game of Thrones. Plus I’ve watched Merlin, How I Met Your Mother, House MD, and Pushing Daisies. And who can ever give up watching a classic like F.R.I E.N.D.S?

Shows that will soon be added to this list are BBC’s Sherlock, Dr. Who, Breaking Bad, Fringe, and Walking Dead.

I watch movies too, because they’re generally shorter than TV series and the production quality is higher. Take Inception for example, or the Lord of the Rings, or Star Wars. One that I’m really excited for is The Theory of Everything, which is about Stephen Hawking:

I feel like I should also mention all the YouTube I watch (there’s a lot of it). There’s vlogbrothers, nigahiga, gameswithhank, cassjaytuck, Tyler Oakley, Pemberley Digital, MyHarto, Vsauce, CGP Grey, GRarkada, TheBookTuber, Kurt Hugo Schnieder, Paint…plus all of the new music I find is through the suggested videos in the sidebar.

Here’s one of my favourite videos by TheBookTuber:

But we haven’t even touched my audio/video obsession: animation.

There’s just something in drawings that live-action cannot do. Take the style in Book of Life:

I’m a sucker for animated movies and shows. Anything Disney, the How to Train Your Dragon series, Rise of the Guardians, Over the Garden Wall, Avatar, Legend of Korra. I’m so excited to watch Book of Life and Big Hero 6.

Which brings me to my final favourite: anime. Literally anything by Studio Ghibli is amazing.

I’ve also watched Wolf Children, Fullmetal Alchemist (both series), Soul Eater, Clannad, Toradora, Attack on Titan, Digimon, Inuyasha, DNangel, Bokurano, Ouran, and Anohana. (I’m sure there’s more, but you get the idea.) I’m planning to watch Black Butler, Steins;Gate, Cowboy Bebop and Baccano too.

I love this scene from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. I couldn’t find a Japanese dub unfortunately, but I watch dubs almost as often as subs. I love how this scene demonstrates how serious and funny the show can be. Check it out if you can!

Any recommendations for what I should be watching? Tell me below!

Check out more posts on the BookBlogWriMo 2014 Master Post!

9 thoughts on “As If The Book Obsession Wasn’t Enough

    1. I’ve been meaning to re-watch it! After FMAB I thought it was terrible, but after some thought I realized I wasn’t giving FMA enough credit…the reason behind the homunculi is so awesome in FMA!

      Like

    2. The relationship between the Elrics is just so touching. And the writing is pretty good.

      Eh, I’m on an anime binge right now. I started with Persona 4 a couple of weeks ago then recently finished Soul Eater. Now, I’m on the last 5 episodes of FMA. XD

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

