Extra

Why Did I Think That Was A Good Idea?

BookBlogWriMo prompt: #FlashbackFriday – Your First Reviews

I’m going to preface this with an internal groan.

See, I didn’t know if I wanted to formally review when I started blogging. My first attempts were…

Well, let’s look at them and you’ll see.

My first review ever was of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I wasn’t particularly happy with this book, and the rant review shows it.

Looking back at it, I could probably have split up the “review” into several IMR posts.

Then come The PJO Reviews. I’m shocked that I actually stuck with the extended review format for three books…after the first I sort of realized it was not going to work out. (Though I still like this one for Sea of Monsters, mostly because I get to rant about the movie.) My reviews still generally follow this pattern, but more concise….for example, they are only one post long now. (Cringing because at one point I thought that was a good idea.)

I should probably mention my first IMR post, which was for Orson Scott Card’s Ender in ExileI started the IMR posts because I thought it would be funny to record my thoughts of a book as I read it, especially if my opinions differ greatly from my final impressions, which actually ended up happening with Ender in Exile.

So those are my first reviews! What did you do on your blog when you first started that, retrospectively, were probably not good ideas? Let me know below!

Check out more posts on the BookBlogWriMo 2014 Master Post!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

