Extra

All The Genres!

BookBlogWriMo prompt: Favourite Subgenres

I read a broad range of genres, so much so that I’m not really sure how to write this post. I guess I’ll just list the genre and my favourite reads from it?

Fantasy. I read a lot of fantasy as a kid, and the obsession stuck. Favourites include: Tamora Pierce’s Circle of Magic, and Alison Croggon’s The Books of Pellinor.

Hidden-Community-of-Magic. I don’t care if that’s not actually the name of the genre. Harry Potter, Chronicles of Narnia, and Percy Jackson deserve their own category.

Historical FictionSpecifically in Europe or regarding the World Wars. Favourites are: The Vanishing Point by Louise Hawes, Number the Stars by Lois Lowry, Angeline by Karleen Bradford, and Dear Canada.

Science Fiction. Both hard and soft sci-fi. I developed a deep love for the Ender series this year, and I also like the Softwire series by PJ Haarsma. And James Patterson’s Maximum Ride’s first three books were really good. (The others were…well let’s not get into that.)

Mystery (a la Agatha Christie). The first mystery books I read and loved were Agatha Christie. My favourites by her are Murder on the Orient Express and Death on the Nile.

YA Romance (a la John Green). I prefer romantic plots to be the side plot rather than the main plot. But when I do read romance novels, I like those that are more like John Green’s Paper Town’s or Benjamin Alire Saenz’s Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

From the point of view of a child. I love books where the serious subject matter is in the point of view of a child. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee and Emma Donoghue’s Room are great examples. (Is this a trope? Oops.)

Some dystopian. I like Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (who doesn’t?) and Lois Lowry’s The Giver. Divergent and Maze Runner were a little less enjoyable.

Any genres I missed? What are your favourite books from these genres? Let me know in the comments!

Check out more posts on the BookBlogWriMo 2014 Master Post!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

