Extra

Tweaking My First Impression

BookBlogWriMo prompt: Your Review Process

My reviews follow a pattern: thoughts on plot, characters, writing, themes and personal enjoyment. Then a rating out of 10 at the end. (You’ll hear more about this tomorrow.)

Oh, and one other rule: NO SPOILERS. (With exceptions when spoilers are necessary for criticism.)

While these five categories are equally important on the grand scheme of things, I usually focus on character development, because in storytelling characters are the most important thing to me. Plus, it’s easy to talk about characters without spoiling anything.

Because I avoid spoilers, plot critique is usually rather general: was it smooth, was it interesting, did the conflict make sense, and was it resolved reasonably?

I usually write my reviews either on the day of or a few days after finishing a book. My first impressions of a book are usually pretty solid.

(Again, with a few exceptions. I’ve got a few books to review that I finished in October.)

The thing is, I don’t publish reviews right away, I mentioned this in my blogflow post. I usually give them a week, during which I will re-evalute my thoughts. If any of my first impressions change, so does the review.

The only time this was a serious problem was when I reviewed Blood of Olympus a while back, which I made drastic changes to as the week progressed.

Usually big changes occur while I’m flipping through the book and I find something that drastically changes my mind, often for the better. I actually had to re-read Eleanor and Park before finally publishing the review because I was really conflicted.

…and that’s my review process.

Any advice for me to revamp my review process? Let me know in the comments!

Check out more posts on the BookBlogWriMo 2014 Master Post!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

