The Playlist

The Playlist | Cool Kids by Echosmith

Last year I made a friend who has almost identical music tastes to mine. I showed him Young the Giant and he introduced me to Daughter. I hadn’t heard from him in a while, so when we were texting this week we started exchanging all the new music we’d come across since we’d last spoken, and one of them is “Cool Kids” by Echosmith.

It sounds a lot like The Colourist, which is awesome, and they’re album just came out this year, which means lots of new music for me to listen to!

I love how this song is about the insecurities of “unpopular” kids. When I was younger, it took me a while to realize that popularity was a social construction that I didn’t have to care about if I didn’t want to. And this song offers that be-all or end-all perspective kids have when they encounter popularity for the first time.

The song doesn’t really offer any resolution to that, but I don’t think it needs to. The girl who knows that being popular “isn’t her style” and the boy with the fake smile are struggling between being popular and being themselves, and I think that solution that holds any real value is glaringly obvious.

Heck, after the first line, my thought was, “Hey (fictional girl who can’t actually hear me), that’s okay. Be you.”

And besides that, it’s just a catchy tune.

Make the story even longer with a comment:

