My Childhood in Books

BookBlogWriMo prompt: #TBT – Favourite Childhood Books

My childhood was full of books. As a kid, I loved almost everything I read, so this post could go through my entire childhood and be quite long. Alas, I won’t. On of the restrictions I’m putting on myself is only until I turned 12…in other words, elementary school.

Some books that I would post here I’ve already written about in 10 Books that changed me as a reader, so I’m omitting them from this list.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

HungryCaterpillarWho hasn’t read this book? Who? You? Go find it and read it now. It will take you five minutes.

Besides Dr. Seuss and Fairy Tales, The Very Hungry Caterpillar was one of my most read books as a kid. I liked the holes in the pages, and the illustrations were just amazing.

I used to get really mad at the caterpillar for being so greedy and eating all that food. But then when he (spoiler!) turns into a butterfly, all is forgiven.

A Treasury of Fairy Tales

A-Treasury-of-Fairy-TalesAnother picture book with lots of great stories inside, I loved this Fairy Tale book. This was the book that I would literally cuddle up in bed with and have my mom read it to me. My sister and I shared a favourite story: Snow White and Rose Red, which is about two sisters as well, which is probably why we liked it so much.

I always liked how the stories gave a hint to the evil in the world. Witches, goblins, bad people in general. The illustrations didn’t dress them up—I was genuinely afraid of these characters.

The Wizard, The Fairy, and The Magic Chicken

imgresThis book wasn’t read to me. I read it to my little brother. And then I loved it so much I read it myself.

It’s a funny little story about cooperation, and the illustrations were really great.

I even know my favourite part of this book by heart:

“MY wand has a MOON on it,” said the wizard.
“MY wand has a STAR on it,” said the fairy.
“MY wand has a PICKLE on it,” said the magic chicken.

It’s like something Fred and George would say.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

SecretGardenThis book was my first classic. Before The Secret Garden, I thought classic books were ones that were inaccessible to me until I was older and had more intelligence. I ended up reading it when I was ten years old.

The Secret Garden was just so accessible. It was so easy to say, hey, I get what’s going on. And I just liked the idea of a fantastical garden, that really wasn’t fantastical at all. It helped me believe that magic exists in the world.

Dear Canada by Various Authors

dearcanada2 dearcanada1I was obsessed with these books. I had a thing for historical fiction (I still do) and the Dear Canada series is probably why. For those who don’t know the premise, the way the series works is that each book is a journal of a young girl, set in Canada’s history. My favourites were An Ocean Apart, which is about Chinese immigrants, and Alone in an Untamed Land, which is about young French women who married Canadian men in order to immigrate to Canada and populate the colony.

imgres-4imgres-1imgresI actually read quite a bit of serial novels targeted at young girls, Abby Hayes by Anne Mazer and The Files of Madison Finn by Laura Dower being the two most read as a kid. They were also journal-based narratives, but the journal entries were supplementary to the main narrative. I never actually finished the series…they might still be going for all I know.

 

imgres-3imgres-2There’s also Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  You might also notice that my selections all star female protagonists. No matter…I read quite a bit with male protagonists too. There was the Secrets of Droon Series by Tony Abbottand The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. And there was also…

 

The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White

Trumpet_of_the_Swan_CoverEveryone loves E.B. White’s Charlotte’s Web, but I feel The Trumpet of the Swan deserves more credit. A story about a trumpeter swan who cannot sing, and therefore communicate with his own species, he learns to read, write, and play the trumpet with the help of human Sam Beaver.

I especially remember this horrible scene where the swan asks Sam to cut his webbed foot so he can play more notes. Hmm, maybe that’s why it was less popular.

I loved this book so much I actually learned to play the trumpet.

Oh, and one more thing. As if I wan’t a big enough nerd already, I read the entire Questions Kids Ask series as a kid.

book3

And I think I’ll end the list there. These are what I remember the most. Do you have fond memories with any of these books? Any you think should be on my list? And what’s on yours? Let me know in the comments!

Check out more posts on the BookBlogWriMo 2014 Master Post!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

