Extra

Happy Birthday, Short Story Long!

One year ago…I was in school. 

Those who frequent this blog are probably sick of the origin story: had an assignment for my English Literature Class, had to start a blog, the experience made me want to continue blogging, blah, blah, blah…

But with my tendency to leave projects hanging in the air with an undetermined landing time, I’m surprised I’ve lasted a year. I’m especially surprised by how much I’ve accomplished on the blog.

For example, 108 people decided that some random girl on the internet who ranted about Percy Jackson and vlogbrothers and the importance of syntax in #ALSIceBucketChallenge was worth following. 

Those of you who are part of the 108, a huge thank you. 🙂 Writing is made all the better when you know someone wants to read.

Speaking of reading, which is a huge part of this book blog, the top five viewed posts are about books, specifically, The House of Hades, Gulliver’s Travels, and Eleanor and Park. In, literally, that order:

  1. The House of Hades: The Soundtrack
  2. NOT Reasons for Boycotting a Book
  3. Gulliver’s Travels, A Satire: (5) A Voyage To Insanity
  4. Gulliver’s Travels, A Satire: (3) Castle in the Sky, Head in the Clouds
  5. Review | Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Seriously, the stats is full of little discoveries about my blog. I’ve seen that stuff I write gets seen all over the world, which is just an incredible thought to me. I see what posts people read most often. But especially people who are looking for answers for their homework. *raises eyebrow at people studying Gulliver’s Travels*

The best part of stats, by far, is the Search Terms. To finish off, I wanted to answer the more…interesting google searches.

how many words are in house of hades?

Um, why do you need to know the word count?

*

miss latters

I’m really confused by this one. Is it the name “Miss Latters”? And how did they get to my blog using that?

*

flappers and enema

HAHAHAHAHAHA. Okay, I know that this is supposed to lead to Gulliver’s Travels, Part 3, but taken out of context, it sounds hilarious. I wonder what else popped up on Google…

…scratch that. I’d rather not.

*

die like maggots under blowtorch meaning

Okay, I have never even used this phrase (at least I don’t think so…) in any of my posts, so how someone got here after punching that into google I’ll never know.

On the off chance someone ends up here again with that question: It just means those who are being compared to maggots are completely vulnerable. 

*

And on that weird note, thus ends the birthday celebration of Short Story Long, and hoping to be here another year from now!

Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Short Story Long!”

  1. Happy Blog Birthday Leanna!!! 😀
    And yes, since I’ve been here a while I *am* sort of tired of the story of origin.
    Okay I’m just kidding, you put up with all /my/ rambling, I should put up with yours.
    But honestly, your blog is so much more than an assignment! And I’m exactly like you in the sense that I have difficulties following through and therefore I am especially proud of the blog for lasting a year.
    And I know exactly how you feel!
    Congratulations and Happy Birthday to your blog once again. 🙂

    Like

    1. Same for me, in a way.
      It’s like, one of the reasons I stayed is because I made some pretty cool friends- and now it is always like, Hey what is she writing about? Ha! You know what? I think I’m gonna write a response to that.

      If nothing else, I at least have to comment on their posts. It’s so much fun!
      And when people read your blog and you see those views and comments, it’s a completely different kind of joy! 😀

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

