The Playlist | Paid The Piper by The Jakes

I discovered that before one of my favourite bands, Young the Giant, was Young the Giant, they were The Jakes. I spent some time listening to their early music, and fell in love with it. It’s more of a hyped up classic rock. One of my favourites is Paid the Piper:

I instantly loved the riff, though I admit I had a little trouble understanding what Sameer Gadhia was singing at first.

So you bring it up baby
Just let it down again
And say the world has screwed you
But you’re buying everything
There’s a price to be in heaven
Cuz lord it ain’t for free
You need divine intervention
Come sanctify me

Rooted in the tale of the Pied Piper (or at least I think it is) this song is about saying one thing, but doing the other, like the village people in the fable. 

The song is directed to people who complain about their lot in life, which in the end isn’t really all that bad, and still do nothing to improve there situation.

…basically, First World Problems. 

Did you like “Paid the Piper” by The Jakes? Have music you think should be on The Playlist? Leave a comment below!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

