The Playlist | Pop 101 by Marianas Trench

I’m a fan of Marianas Trench. I love a good parody. “Pop 101” is the two put together so well, I haven’t stopped listening to it.

I love this song. While outside of their pop-punk-rock sound, I think it’s great that Marianas Trench made a song like this.

It’s got a electronic background, but still seems to retain some of the attitude of M-Trench, with the vocalization at the beginning, to the chuckle at the end.

All the songs they parody are easy to recognize too. Just off the top my head (in order) I’m pretty sure the songs are:

  • “Sexy Back” by Justin Timberlake
  • KeSha
  • “I’ve Got a Feeling” by Black Eyed Peas
  • Imogen Heap
  • “Hey Ho”
  • “I Will Wait” by Mumford Sons
  • “We Can’t Stop” by Miley Cyrus
  • “Wall to Wall” by Chris Brown
  • “Pound the Alarm” by Rihanna
  • “Gangnam Style” by Psy
  • Jason Derulo

(If you recognize any more, or if I got one wrong, mention it in the comments!)

The funny thing is, this list is so short because there were parts where either more than one song applied, or my brain just couldn’t grasp the one song that they were mimicking. They all seemed to blend together in my memory—and that’s the point.

The song is surprisingly true. Pop music has degraded to techo-autotune-4-chord-YOLO-love songs, and it’s actually kind of sad. Sure, it’s fun to dance to, but I like more in my Playlist than just something that sounds good.

…says the girl who listens to a ridiculous amount of Japanese pop-rock.

But I don’t listen to the radio that much anymore, because the music all sounds the same…and it’s not a sound I’d like to listen to on repeat.

But this song? It’s going to be on repeat for a while.

Did you like “Pop 101” by Marianas Trench? Have music you think should be on The Playlist? Leave a comment below!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

