The Playlist

The Playlist (Throwback Edition) | No No No Part 2 by Destiny’s Child

I don’t really know what came over my sister and me this week, but a blast from our childhood took over our playlists this past week, specifically in the form of Destiny’s Child.

It’s actually really funny that I used to listen to them, since now I listen to a lot of indie and alternative rock, and barely any RNB.

It kind of shocks me, realizing what I used to listen to, for lots of reasons. I already mentioned the drastic change in genre, but what about content?

Destiny’s Child’s music videos always featured the girls in skin-tight clothing, sometimes scantily dressed (and in one instance no clothing at all), and the group dancing provocatively to the song they were singing.

And the songs they were singing seemed to range from girl power to submission and seduction.

My sister listened to a lot of their music. Our favourites included:

  • “Say My Name”
  • “Lose My Breath”
  • “Girl”
  • “Cater 2 U”
  • “Independent Woman”
  • “Bills, Bills, Bills”
  • “Survivor”
  • “Soldier”
  • “Bootylicious”

Which are respectively about:

  • discovering a cheating boyfriend
  • rough sex
  • confrontation of an abusive relationship
  • setting back the feminist movement essentially two decades
  • undoing the previous set back while also acting as a trailer for Charlie’s Angels
  • being a female breadwinner
  • persistence and preservation
  • looking for a street gangster for a boyfriend
  • …well, that’s pretty much self explanatory

Listening to all the old stuff and despite feeling nostalgic, I was also kind of disgusted. There were innuendos and whole songs that reeked with sex and seduction—the stuff I try and steer clear from in the music I listen to. Take these lyrics from “Soldier”:

I need a soldier
That ain’t scared to stand up for me
Known to carry big things
If you know what I mean

At twelves years old, I didn’t know what Beyonce meant. Eight years later, I’m listening to it, I know what she means, and I can’t believe that I used to listen to it.

…and I would stop listening to it, but the nostalgia factor gets me to hit replay again.

So that’s The Playlist for this week. Any music you’re surprised you used to listen to? Tell me below!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

