The Playlist

The Playlist | Marilyn Hanson by Hank Green and the Perfect Strangers

I was so excited for this song when I heard a preview of it at the end of one of Hank’s videos a while back. I didn’t even know what the title was but I knew I liked it right away.

I now know that the title is “Marilyn Hanson”.

With a title like that, I expected a parody song about Marilyn Manson, or maybe even a song about some person I’ve never heard about named Marilyn Hanson.

Instead it’s a song about nostalgia, which definitely makes it a nice surprise that no only did I enjoy, but appreciate.

So where does “Marilyn Hanson” come from? It’s a combination of the music artists mentioned in the chorus:

Dancing to Hanson, and Marilyn Manson
And I know that that doesn’t make even a little bit of sense
That was the point, that beautiful incongruence
We didn’t fit, and we didn’t want to
That feeling still with me, in everything I do
It didn’t matter and it didn’t matter
To anyone but ourselves

A lot of the other titles in Hank’s new album have a similar play on content. There’s “Mother Pheasant Plucker”, which is about a factory worker, “Gangnam Style” is a full on translation of the viral song, and “I’d rather” reminds me of a rather nasty game of Would You Rather?

I still have to get around to buying Incongruent, but from what I’ve heard so far, it’s pretty good, so check it out!

Did you like “Marilyn Hanson” by Hank Green? Have music you think should be on The Playlist? Leave a comment below!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

