The Playlist

The Playlist | World Spins Madly On By The Weepies

The Fault In Our Stars movie is coming out in a week, so I wanted to pick a song that matches the movie.

The obvious choice is Ed Sheeran’s “All Of These Stars”, which was for the soundtrack. I love Ed Sheeran’s music so as soon as I found it I was listening to it non-stop.

But then I was on tumblr and found this song and the animation and lyrics were too poetic to ignore:

It’s called “World Spins Madly On” by The Weepies, and the animation was entitled “Thought of You” and done by Ryan Woodward.

The animation goes particularly well given the plot of TFioS, wouldn’t you agree? And the lyrics speak for themselves:

Woke up and wished that I was dead
With an aching in my head
I lay motionless in bed
The night is here and the day is gone
And the world spins madly on

But I think what’s nice about this video in particular is this chain of inspiration it follows. There’s a fairly long video on youtube describing the process of creating it. There’s the song, which is beautiful and simple. Then there’s the dance made by the choreographers. Then the animation made from that.

And finally, there’s the interpretation of the song, dance, and animation made. From one vantage point you could think of The Fault In Our Stars. From another, maybe a different tragic love story.

So how do you interpret this song, internet? I’d like to know!

Did you like “World Spins Madly On”? Have music you think should be on The Playlist? Leave a comment below!

2 thoughts on “The Playlist | World Spins Madly On By The Weepies

  1. The animation reminded me of the dance that Tiffany and Pat do at the end of The Silver Linings Playbook (and I mean the book dance, in the movie they’ve done something completely different), this is more or less like I imagined it to be.
    Very beautiful! 🙂

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

