The Playlist | 93 Million Miles by Jason Mraz

This week’s addition to the playlist is a day late for the Mother’s Day Edition.

And the song that reminds me of my mother the most is 93 Million Miles by Jason Mraz.

This isn’t your typical “I Will Take Care of You” by Amy Sky, or “Mother” by John Lennon. It isn’t even a song she sang when she was little, either as a lullaby or to offhandedly as she did work.

Actually the latter would be a miracle since (a) she doesn’t listen to Jason Mraz, I do, and (b) this song came out two years ago.

So unless my mother knew time travel, (which would be amazing but is sadly improbable) she couldn’t have known this song.

What makes this song remind me of her is the following line from the chorus:

You can always come back home.

If my mother believes in anything when it comes to her family, it’s that her home will always be open to them. She always tells me that she feels most content when everyone is at home.

This is especially true nowadays, with me in college, out of the house more often than I’m in it. My sister is graduating from high school and will soon be in a similar situation to my own. And before we know it my brother’s going to be on that path as well.

Our parents made us a promise that they would always support my siblings and me in whatever we do. And they believe in our abilities, sometimes more than we do.

Which is why this song reminds me of my mother so much. No matter how far I go, even if its 93 Million miles to the sun (which scientifically is a very bad idea), I will have her support.

And that’s the support that I’m thanking and celebrating today.

Did you like “93 Million Miles” by Jason Mraz? Have music you think should be on The Playlist? Leave a comment below!

Make the story even longer with a comment:

