Extra

Why Does No One Procrastinate from Procrastinating?

I have literally done nothing for a week. Like, nothing.

Okay, well I did some stuff. I cleaned the house and went to the mall and the bank, cooked some dinners, and baked a pathetic attempt at purple cookies.

SIDE STORY: Why purple cookies? Because a few months ago I pulled a Sally Jackson and made my brother blue cookies in celebration of his hard work as a member of the orchestra pit in his school play. (The photo of which I have lost to the digiverse and so must instead leave a link to the recipe. They are awesome and the blue batch turned out well.) My sister wanted me to try purple, but after baking it just looked brown. *sigh*

Ironically, I’ve been living for the past eight months in an endless cycle of school eat sleep, school eat sleep, school eat internet sleep. So the minute school ends I’m always stuck in this slump of “What should I do now?”

And it’s not even like I don’t have anything to do…there’s plenty for me to do:

  1. Catch up on the three things I haven’t had much time to do since school started:
    1. Reading
    2. Writing
    3. Guitar playing
  2. Find a lab to volunteer in for the summer
  3. Practice driving
  4. Work in the garden before the roses grow and extend their evil thorns of death, preventing me from weeding behind them.

In regards to the last one, the weeds know. They know they are safe there for the summer if they grown behind the roses and they propagate there like crazy right before the weather gets warm.

But back to the topic at hand. I have been procrastinating. Instead of looking at research papers, I’ve been watching vlogbrothers and Fullmetal Alchemist. Even right now, I’m writing this post instead of writing cover letter/emails.

Have I just been wasting time?

The obvious answer is yes.

So why can’t I seem to stop? Why is procrastinating the easiest thing to do?

1 thought on “Why Does No One Procrastinate from Procrastinating?”

Make the story even longer with a comment:

