Notable Quotables | Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

I love this book so much…naturally I found a ton of quotes to flag!

Flag count: 17

On growing up:

The problem with my life was that it was someone else’s idea

Senior year. And then life. Maybe that’s the way it worked. High school was just a prologue to the real novel. Everybody got to write you — but when you graduated, you got to write yourself. At graduation you got to collect your teacher’s pens and your parents’ pens and you got your own pen. And you could do all the writing.

“That do you have against adults?”
“They have too many ideas about who we are Or who we should be.”

“I live in an ecotone Employment must coexist with goofing off. Responsibility must coexist with irresponsibility.”

On people:

“But why won’t the war leave my dad alone?”
“Because your father has a conscience.”

I got to thinking that poems were like people. Some people you got right off the bat. Some people you just didn’t get—and never would get.

On words:

Words were different when they lived inside of you.

To be careful with people and with words was a rare and beautiful thing.

“Did anyone ever tell you that sometimes you talk like a lunatic who speaks perfect English?”

On love:

But love was always something heavy for me. Something I had to carry.

The problem is not that I don’t love my mother and father. The problem is that I don’t know how to love them.

Maybe everyone loves differently. Maybe that’s all that matters.

2 thoughts on “Notable Quotables | Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

  1. I’ve been wanting to comment on your post about Aristotle and Dante ever since I finished reading the book a couple weeks ago.
    I loved this book!!
    And I read it because you recommended.
    So thank you!

    And all these quotes are amazing aren’t they?
    I especially love that one ” The problem with my lofe was that it was someone else’s idea” and the ecotone one
    And not that I read your blog post, I’m thinking Yes I liked that one too!
    Oh and that one!
    How could I foget this one ?!?
    Hehe…

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

